dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 50

Thread: Bug

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    111

    Bug

    hi

    I think I found a bug

    using a .fun file made in Koolmoves 8.0 - when I export it using Koolmoves 8.1.1 it creates garbled code

    the weird thing - the debugger cannot pick it up - and my local browser shows both fine - I only picked it up by using Adobe Browser Lab.

    here are screenshots of the exact same fun file exported using both 8.0 and 8.1.1


    Koolmoves 8.0:

    http://under.freezoka.net/8.0.png


    Koolmoves 8.1.1

    http://under.freezoka.net/8.1.1.png


    I also provided the test files to replicate the error.

    In fact there were worse errors than this in other fun files - objects missing etc...crashing on export...this is just a quick test file



    http://under.freezoka.net/testfile.zip

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    There are action script errors in both swfs files --

    Error: Error #2067: The ExternalInterface is not available in this container. ExternalInterface requires Internet Explorer ActiveX, Firefox, Mozilla 1.7.5 and greater, or other browsers that support NPRuntime.
    at Error$/throwError()
    at flash.external::ExternalInterface$/call()
    at test_on_both_versions_fun::MainTimeline/frame6()

    I suggest you download from adobe.com the debug player.

    I will let Wilbert look at any action script to understand what is going on. I wouldn't jump to the conclusion that it is a Koolmoves bug.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    111
    weird thing is, I have been using the debugger...


    there might be some errors when pressing some buttons...because I deleted some objects....but these should not be called up by the debugger when just loading the page.....(because they are nested in a function or button listener)

    or even then can this cause problems?

    in my tests it is just loading a page, and koolmoves 8.0 and 8.1.1 rendered the swf differently. Maybe the different versions handle errors differently?

    also the error you mentioned is external interface call, connecting to javascript, but I did not add the javascript to the html file in the zip...but it should not affect the bugs i mention...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,632
    Both swf files you provided in the zip archive (8.0.swf and 8.11.swf) look like the 8.1.1 image you posted with english and german text visible. I don't see a difference.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    111
    ok definatley something strange going on here.


    on my computer on firefox, internet explorer and chrome - both swfs look like the 8.0 example. but on your system they look like the 8.1.1 example.

    and in Adobe Browser Lab they each look different.

    >Try using Adobe Browser Lab and you will see. It doesnt matter which browser you select


    I tested using these links:

    http://under.freezoka.net/8.0.html

    http://under.freezoka.net/8.11.html

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    There is a subtle difference between the two swf files in the action script export. I will look into it.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    rocker101, email me -- support at koolmoves dot com -- and I will give you a beta for koolmoves 8.1.1 which should resolve this problem

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    I spoke too soon. The action script export between the two versions is subtle and probably insignificant. There are some major differences. The 8.1.1 swf has added objects. I suspect the problem is there. I see major differences starting with contact, clients, about, btntitle, etc. In 8.1.1 swf, the same instance names are assigned to different objects.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    111
    yes basically I cannot use any 8.0 projects with 8.1 and over..so I have to do everything with 8.0

    too many bugs

    I suspect like you said objects are getting mixed up - I would have strange bug if I use 8.1 with a 8.0 project like clicking a menu and a different menu appears - even though the actionscript is correct...I suspect like you said objects are getting mixed up

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    I will look at it again. I will generate 8.0 and 8.1.1 swf files from your test_on_both_version.fun.
    Last edited by Bob Hartzell; 07-19-2011 at 07:20 AM.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    It does appear there is an export problem. Because your project is huge, it may take some time to figure it out.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    I think I know what the problem is. When I turned off morphing between scenes, I messed up the export for objects shared between scenes that require unique object names, specifically in this case buttons "about", "clients", "contact".

    I'll let you know when I have a fix.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    Email me for the fix or wait for the next release within a week.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    111
    unfortunately I just installed the 8.1.2, and it didn't fix the problems

    I needed a break from my computer for some days, so I have only just got back to the screen, saw the update - was excited - but no luck - doesn't work! so gunna stick with 8.0


    I will PM you a full project file for testing. would prefer the to use a later version of course!

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    Sorry. When you are ready, email me or post here the 8.0 fun file and any referenced images, etc. I can generate the swf files for comparision.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    111

    Exclamation BUGS - 8.1.3 is still a minefield of bugs

    fínally I am back - tried Koolmoves 8.1.3 - and it is still a minefield of bugs.

    so I actually had time to prepare a project file for testing and KILLING THOSE BUGS ONCE AND FOR ALL!!!

    I hope this helps.

    this is a list of the bugs that happen with my test project:


    • 1. a graphic which is a little grey square for covering a menu button (to make it look like it has been pushed)
      works in Koolmoves 8.1 - but if you try it in 8.1.3 it behaves weirdly and doesnt change with each scene. it is nested in a mc called 'MenuCover'


    In either version - Koolmoves 8.1 or 8.1.3 - you can produce a crash these ways:


    • 2. If I delete a clip globally called 'mc24' then try to open File->Export Settings.. It crashes.



    • 3. If I delete a text object called 'classical'
      on scene: 'reel'
      frame: 'base'

      then try to open File->Export Settings.. It crashes.



    • 4. If I delete a text object called 'modern'
      on scene: 'reel'
      frame: 'base
      '
      then try to open File->Export Settings.. It crashes.



    • 5. If I delete the frame named 'base' in scene 'reel' -
      then try to open File->Export Settings.. It crashes.


    in the last four points above you can actually crash it also by replacing the last action: 'open File->Export Settings' with exporting to swf (File->Export/Publish Movie - then save swf)


    the project file is here:

    https://rapidshare.com/files/3999221...t_for_bugs.zip



    it is frustrating because I spent hours on a project only to realise I could not export it as a swf. Then I could not open the 8.1.3 file with 8.1. grrrrr!!

    However if I just play it in koolmoves - I can get the temporary swf file called ~player.swf and rename it - however it is larger in size

    please kill those bugs!!

    cheers

  17. #17
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    Use the attachment facility provided by FlashKit, not the rapidshare environment.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    26
    I already tried - I only have 200kb left of space. Flashkits attachment facility seems to be based on a 90s size of storage space!! the file is 3mb and won't upload

  19. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,428
    I found the location where the crash is occurring. I suspect one problem is causing all the crashes. I haven't identified the cause yet. When I have a fix, I will provide you with a new version.

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    26
    you rock!! if you fix it then that would save me hours apon hours of work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center