dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Capture power of Sound !

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    15

    Capture power of Sound !

    Hi to all !
    I have a problem with the sound capture of my Microphone in Actionscript 3.0.
    Particularly I would like to capture the "power" of sound, better if in decibel !
    Does a method / attribut of class Microphone exist that can help me ?
    Thanks !

  2. #2
    Senior Member calmchess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,588
    How are you planning to use the microphone? I'm not aware of its use other than connecting it to flash media server WOWZA or Red5 there is a activity level or something that you can track and make an indicator. I don't remember the name of the method off hand i would have to look it up. So answer my first question and we go from there.
    ~calmchess~

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    15
    I have to use the microphone's power to develop a simple "home-made" equalizer ! and I would like to use only the power amount converted in decibel or in some other way ! (i.e hertz .. )

  4. #4
    Senior Member calmchess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,588
    well here you go. Here is everything you can do with microphone.

    http://help.adobe.com/en_US/FlashPla...icrophone.html
    ~calmchess~

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    15
    I already saw this page but I didn't find the method / attribute that express the microphone's power !

  6. #6
    Senior Member calmchess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,588
    Thats because there isn't one. The best I've ever created is an activity meter. Search on!
    ~calmchess~

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    121
    SoundChannel has leftPeak and rightPeak allowing you to measure sound amplitude, not in dB, but as decimals from 0 to 1. If you can pass mic content into a sound channel, then that would work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center