A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Flash CS3 AS3 still works in CS5?

Flash CS3 AS3 still works in CS5?

Hello fellow flasher, this question may be asked before, but i couldn't find on the net, i'm new to cs5, and i want to learn more as3, and i have some cs3 tutorial, is it a good idea to learn from cs3 as3? and does cs3 as3 still works in cs5?

Thanks all.

Regards,
    AntheMz

If you have CS5 then its depends on you and your choice to use CS3 or not.

But you can always run CS3 file/project or AS2 AS3 code in any upper versions.

We in Office use from CS3 to CS5 to serve different Client.

Even we also have Flash8 still running in some machine to develop applications as before.

I prefer to use CS3 as I'm familiar with this. But I also use the Other IDEs too.

If you have CS3 then my recommendation is to go through it.

FFA

I have never tried that, but theoretically it SHOULD work, because Flash itself doesn't run the codes, it's the Flash Player, so whatever Flash Player you're using (probably the most up-to-date one), will be the determining factor of the actionscript version you are using. I don't think Actionscript 3.0 has changed since CS3, but some new (minor) stuff may have been added since its release, but nothing major, otherwise they would've released Actionscript 4.0, lol.