dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Simple Question #1: Fb vs Fl

Simple Question #1: Fb vs Fl

Well, I've decided to embark on a process of learning ActionScript/Flex/Flash.

I am studying "ActionScript 3.0 Bible" by Roger Braunstein which doesn't seem too bad.

I have a background (from a number of years ago...I haven't programmed in a decade) in heavy server-side programming (UNIX/C/Tuxedo).

My goal is to develop an online vector graphics editor. I figure its going to take some time to get there, but you have to start somewhere, right.

Anyway, enough introduction. Here is my first question:

What are the pro's/con's of Flash Builder verses Flash Professional?

We have the Adobe Creative Suite in my office, so we have Flash Professional. I also downloaded Flash Builder (based on the recommendation in the Braunstein book). I can see how Flash Professional is more timeline based than Flash Builder, but I don't have a sense of why someone would choose to use one vs the other.

Any insights would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Really good question that I've been asked alot. For me I determine one over the other based on the type of application I plan on building. Flash Builder, previously known as Flex, is a RIA development tool. It is not timeline based, so development is very similar to other coding environments. In both cases, they export (publish) their end product using SWF or using AIR, which means you can deploy to either desktop or the web, and the overall size can be small so you get quick responses.

My last project was deployed to the Android Market, and I found building for them was easier in Flash CS5.5 verses using Flex and because this application REQUIRED a timeline, the choice was easy.