A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Please help with my Uni eLearning course

Please help with my Uni eLearning course

Hi Everyone,

I'm studying a post-graduate certificate in eLearning through the University of New England in Australia. One of the subjects I am currently studying involves the evaluation of a 'learning community'. For this assignment I have chosen to look at Flash Kit.

I've chosen Flash Kit it as I am slowly developing an interest in Flash and this community looks like a well developed, thriving site with a large membership and a long history.

I was wondering if some of you can let me know....
    1) what you think makes this a useful learning experience....for instance what aspects of the site keep you coming back, wanting to contribute etc ?
    2) the benefits you get from this community/site?
    3) any problems you find with this community/site?
    4) if you would define the site as a 'community' in your own terms?

Any full or partial responses would be greatly appreciated and would help me develop a well-rounded assignment.

Thanks!

regards

Mark

1) The feeling of being able to help someone, but foremost the experience one acquires through helping others, which is way more fun that practicing on your own. Also, all the members are nice and friendly here and don't flame on each other.

2) Same as above, I get to practice my coding and learn something new all the time

3) Not really, except that some people sometimes tend to take a helper's help for granted and exploit that chance to their own avail for further personal assistance without showing proper gratitude. I think that's a bit egocentric, but find it inevitable to decline due to my nature.