A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: How to add audio - "zers" turntable player remodeled

Hybrid View

How to add audio - "zers" turntable player remodeled

I'm very new to flash in general, so please forgive me any mistakes like posting in the wrong forum (to me it's a beginner question anyways) or asking a question that previously have been answered numerous times. - Of course I've searched the forums without success.

I've been given the task to add an additional track to a slightly remodeled version of zers' turntable player from 2003.
    You may find a published example of the player - that which has been given to me in form of a fla project here: http://www.feibz.ch/flash/feibz-o-mixer.swf

After learning to play with flash, trying and failing for two days straight, I've managed to extend & create -almost- everything needed to play the new track.

The last step - and that's why I've decided to ask the pros in here - is to add the new audio file.

The audio files aren't embedded in the flv and seem to stream (magically) from the root folder of the swf file. The creator seemed to have converted the tracks to audio-only flv files.
    Sadly I know too little about how they were referenced into the player - well all I can see are the events behind the "buttons" (vinyls) - where the tracks are somehow called by name, I have no idea how.

Example for "track05"
    Code:
    on (press) {
    	startDrag("/track05", true);
    	if (getProperty("/track05", _droptarget) eq "/target") {
    		tellTarget ("_root") {
    			gotoAndPlay("track05 ende");
    		}
    	}
    }
    on (release) {
    	stopDrag();
    	if (getProperty("/track05", _droptarget) eq "/target") {
    		tellTarget ("_root") {
    			gotoAndPlay("track05");
    		}
    	}
    }
    ..which appears to perfectly work - somewhere there has to be a relation to "track05"'s target being bla.flv - but where?