Flash8 editing a navigation button
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: editing a navigation button

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7

    editing a navigation button

    I am trying to edit a navigation button so that when clicked, it will bring the user to a specific point on the timeline. As it stands, when the "close"button is selected, the user is routed back to the main page and the beginning of the mc. This makes it somewhat annoying when trying to navigate through the entire site. Below is the Action script currently. Ideally, I would like to have the close button take the user back to frame 180 or so of the timeline. If someone could help shed some light, I would be gateful.

    Thank you

    on (rollOver) {this.gotoAndStop("s1");}
    on (rollOut, releaseOutside) {this.gotoAndStop("s2");}
    on (release) {
    this.gotoAndStop("s2");
    _root.buttons2[("b" + _root.g_page)].gotoAndStop("s2");
    _root.g_page = 0;
    _root.page = 0;
    _root.center1.play();

    _root.center1.b0.b.enabled = false;
    _root.buttons2.b1.b.enabled = false;
    _root.buttons2.b2.b.enabled = false;
    _root.buttons2.b3.b.enabled = false;
    _root.buttons2.b4.b.enabled = false;
    _root.buttons2.b5.b.enabled = false;
    _root.buttons2.b6.b.enabled = false;
    }

  2. #2
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    902
    Hi,

    If you can attach your *.fla instead of having to try and copy your file it would save a lot of time.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for the reply!

    I assume, you are looking for the unedited file for the "close" button itself and nothing else?
    I will upload it later today as I don't have access to it at the moment.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7
    I guess I am doing something wrong or have misunderstood. Can you download the file from my server?
    I hope I am not breaking forum rules by posting the link. If I am, I apologize.

    http://www.overclockeddoc.com/QWNHL....sh_x/flash.fla

  5. #5
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    902
    Hi,

    It's quite a big file, anyway, you will need to mess around with the number till you get what you desire.
    Perhaps you should remake the file (if you did) to make it easier to edit, lots of code embedded everywhere you go (hard to find), looks ok though.

    PHP Code:
    _root.center1.gotoAndPlay(50);// any number you desire 
    instead of _root.center1.play();

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7
    Thank you for your reply!

    I have made the changes as you suggested within the action script but am still having an issue. After the changes are made, the "close" button no longer functions correctly and will not close the open window. I carefully checked to be sure I didn't mistype or space anything, but It appears I have it correct. Is it possible I need to make further change elsewhere?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by fruitbeard View Post
    Hi,

    It's quite a big file, anyway, you will need to mess around with the number till you get what you desire.
    Perhaps you should remake the file (if you did) to make it easier to edit, lots of code embedded everywhere you go (hard to find), looks ok though.

    PHP Code:
    _root.center1.gotoAndPlay(50);// any number you desire 
    instead of _root.center1.play();
    Making the changes as you suggested did resolve my issue, after I made the necessary changes on the timeline. Thank you again for the help.

    Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com