FFS stop using AS2
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 69

Thread: FFS stop using AS2

  1. #1
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883

    Exclamation FFS stop using AS2

    Okay, imma gonna make this thread because it's 2015 and you guys keep using it because there is sh1tload of tutorials in google - you need to stop it, really. Of course, AS2 did not magically stop working, and you can still create content with AS2, but consider this:

    1. AS2 is slow. AS3 was faster since day 1, and AS2 still runs on VM that was not updated for years.
    2. AS2 lacks features that you might need one day - those were only made available throgh new VM (AS3).
    3. AS2 is not supported by Flash IDE since 2012 (over 2 years now). You know it can't be good sign, don't you.
    4. AS2 content cannot be brought to mobiles. AS3 content can be published as AIR app on both iOS and Android.
    5. In my circles, I saw significant drop of interest towards AS3. Which means there is even less demand for AS2. Any effort you put to build AS2 skills will be in vain.


    I am not particulary interested to discuss this, but of course feel free to comment Mods, I beg you, put this as a sticky post or something. People have no clue
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  2. #2
    Flashkit historian Frets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    flashkit
    Posts
    8,797
    Oh, you're just making stuff up

  3. #3
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    Always nice to see well-substantiated reply.
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  4. #4
    Flashkit historian Frets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    flashkit
    Posts
    8,797
    Dude, I was pulling your leg

  5. #5
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    Successfully
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  6. #6
    Prid - Outing Nig 13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,861
    As long as AS2 keeps working in Flash Player, there's always going to be people who use it, and sadly there's nothing you can do about it, lol.
    I am back, guys ... and finally 18 :P

    BRING BACK THE OLD DESIGN!! OR AT LEAST FIX THE AS TAGS

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    Im going to use it forever, and to kill your statement I will say that you can put your as2 file in a as3 container and run it on ios/droid apps apk/ipa
    a* on an ic!

  8. #8
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    sure you can, but it will be played with no scripts, so as2 still would not run
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    Quote Originally Posted by realMakc View Post
    sure you can, but it will be played with no scripts, so as2 still would not run


    Ive ran it with scripts before and it worked fine
    a* on an ic!

  10. #10
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  11. #11
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    I can't find nice adobe page to sum it all up in one place, but this guy at SO has it right: http://stackoverflow.com/a/24999270/2207790
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    whatever man lol ive done it, thats your problem if you cant
    Last edited by Alloy Bacon; 02-05-2015 at 12:27 PM.
    a* on an ic!

  13. #13
    Prid - Outing Nig 13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,861
    I think there's a custom AS2 compiler somewhere on the internet (I remember someone posting it here once) -- so fret not, there will always be a method to make AS2 work!
    I am back, guys ... and finally 18 :P

    BRING BACK THE OLD DESIGN!! OR AT LEAST FIX THE AS TAGS

  14. #14
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    ill simply find a way to modify the runtime files and allow people to download it so they can use my products
    good luck with Adobe's legal department
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  15. #15
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    Quote Originally Posted by Nig 13 View Post
    I think there's a custom AS2 compiler somewhere on the internet
    you may be thinking mtasc and they only do as2 -> swf (the same you can do with old flash ide). the people behind mtasc are now developing haxe, the technology that makes even as3 outdated.
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    Quote Originally Posted by realMakc View Post
    good luck with Adobe's legal department
    Hey if they discontinue a product and they dont make the runtime open source afterwards, theres not much loyalty they should expect from us, if anything they should be happy someones trying to keep there company alive
    a* on an ic!

  17. #17
    Prid - Outing Nig 13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,861
    Quote Originally Posted by Alloy Bacon View Post
    they should be happy someones trying to keep there company alive
    Yeah, I hope so -- they've already developed a HTML5 software, Adobe Edge Animate. It kind of irritates me that they've developed a software for their competitors, but I guess they'll also do anything to keep up with the mainstream stuff, go with the flow and cash in bags of money. If only Adobe hadn't been bought up Macromedia, which originally created Flash, I think a lot of things would be better! How I still love Macromedia Flash 8!
    I am back, guys ... and finally 18 :P

    BRING BACK THE OLD DESIGN!! OR AT LEAST FIX THE AS TAGS

  18. #18
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    they've already developed a HTML5 software, Adobe Edge Animate. It kind of irritates me that they've developed a software for their competitors
    oh man...

    since you totally missed the news re flash ide not supporting as2 for two years, you probably do not know as well that flash ide now has two html5 targets (canvas and webgl) besides good old swf and air
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  19. #19
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,697
    Hi,

    I like it when a thread gets slightly heated.

    Wow, I remember Flash 4, that was the first Flash I ever used.
    Before that it was orignally called future splash (without googling it that is, I think Flash 3 did exist), yes all owned by Macromedia, I believe also that Adobe originally turned that down.

    AS3 is much much better though, and by all accounts isnt that much different in code to AS2 if people are scared that they wont be able to convert easily(well it is), loops etc still remain the same.

    Toodles x

  20. #20
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,697
    Edit: Actually it was Flash 3 first for me and very soon after 4 came along, but remember, some people still use win 98

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com