MD5 salt or SHA1 GO!
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: MD5 salt or SHA1 GO!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766

    MD5 salt or SHA1 GO!

    Sha1?
    a* on an ic!

  2. #2
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,697
    Hi,

    I'm not sure what you're asking Alloy, I use salted SHA1 for my database and test it using fiddler security debugger.
    The passwords are readable from Flash over http unless you encrypt them within flash before sending to the php file.

    http://www.telerik.com/fiddler

    and if you already use fiddler you can see the data encrypted here on my test dbase - http://fruitbeard.net/dbase/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    only the users password is visible over http headers not the whole db correct? I dont see why flash would access my whole database if php is handling all the data
    a* on an ic!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    amazing site by the way
    a* on an ic!

  5. #5
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,697
    Hi Alloy,

    What I'm saying is that if you are sending a password from flash to php for it to be encrypted, then it is readable ( not encrypted ) before it gets encrypted.
    Passing it over to the php file from flash already encrypted is much more secure.

    No, Flash does not access your database, the php file is doing that.

    I'm just saying that you might want to encrypt the password inside flash and then send it to the php file, which will place it in the database.

    Apparently google are trying to persuade people to use SHA256 or other encryption methods and stop using SHA1, look it up.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    Good idea, i will do that soon than for added security, your site improved alot from 3 years ago when it looked like mac lol, only thing I dislike about it that you never fixed was the mouse can lose focus if it drags a window to quickly
    a* on an ic!

  7. #7
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,697
    Hi,

    Whats the rush, drag it slowly.
    But I could change that.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    true, but still, better to just have it right, id be on your site all day if i can load up a youtube video on one of those windows btw
    a* on an ic!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    nice you fixed it
    a* on an ic!

  10. #10
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,697
    Hi,

    I didn't fix it Alloy, I merely changed it, big difference.
    I'm touched by your kudos, ta.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com