Can you please help me? (Bug in a Flash game)
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Can you please help me? (Bug in a Flash game)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3

    Question Can you please help me? (Bug in a Flash game)

    Hello. I'm an English teacher. I like using this Jeopardy game in my lessons. Students learn vocabulary effectively with this game. The game is not prepared by me.

    You may know the Jeopardy game. There are questions. Within the specified time, students should answer the question. The bug is about the end of the game. The points gained or lost at the last question is not added to the groups' total points. I want to fix this bug, but I have no knowledge in Flash or ActionScript.

    Can anybody help me? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    As the game (596kb) exceeds forum attachment limit(300kb), it is uploaded to Yandex Disk. (https://yadi.sk/d/DqsFzsbmznhfc)

  2. #2
    Dignitary rynoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    761
    This is from days of old. Animate 7 opens the file but no actionscript. The text file tells me that either this is old school AS2(or even 1). If you still need a jeopardy game I will build you one. I have built dozens. You will need to use xml however.

  3. #3
    Dignitary rynoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    761
    Actually nvm, Jeopardy is a stupid learning game that old people play. Find a more modern fun one.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    include the {as}
    a* on an ic!

  5. #5
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,701
    Hi,

    It is actually AS3 and he is using URLLoaderDataFormat.VARIABLES

    But it would help if the code was supplied too.

  6. #6
    Dignitary rynoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    761
    Quote Originally Posted by fruitbeard View Post
    Hi,

    It is actually AS3 and he is using URLLoaderDataFormat.VARIABLES

    But it would help if the code was supplied too.
    If it is AS3 using URLLoaderDataFormat.VARIABLES then an idiot coded it. If you are certain it is AS3 then you are an idiot too because you got no idea what version it is. I was giving the programmer the benefit of the doubt. You however, are trying to look smart and your not.

  7. #7
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,701
    Hi,

    Thanks for the strong words Rynoe, very helpful.

    The fla when opened tells you that it is an AS3 and looking for its as file to get its code from.

    Also if you put the swf into any decompiler you will see the AS3 code glaring at you.

    The text file can of course be used with any version of AS, although this particular one is being used with AS3.

    Nothing smart about it sir, just pointing out a fact.

    Whats wrong with using AS3 to make jeopardy type game?

  8. #8
    Dignitary rynoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    761
    "Whats wrong with using AS3 to make jeopardy type game?"

    I used to sell ice cream to eskimoes.
    Last edited by rynoe; 12-07-2016 at 04:00 AM.

  9. #9
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,701
    Hi,

    Two cones please, AS3 style.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    766
    someone tame the rhino
    a* on an ic!

  11. #11
    . fruitbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,701
    Hi

    I guess you wont be helping the op then

  12. #12
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    Quote Originally Posted by rynoe View Post
    I will build you one. I have built dozens.
    did you just try to solicit paid work from someone who uses yandex disk ??
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3
    Hi

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    53
    Allo

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3
    What google Allo?

    I have cuestion i needto make a string how do i do

  16. #16
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    oh, it's just like you would make a number, but you put quotation marks around it.
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by rynoe View Post
    Actually nvm, Jeopardy is a stupid learning game that old people play. Find a more modern fun one.
    This game is not so stupid, I'm not old, my students are also not old They like to compete.

    Can you advise me a more modern fun one?

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by rynoe View Post
    If it is AS3 using URLLoaderDataFormat.VARIABLES then an idiot coded it. If you are certain it is AS3 then you are an idiot too because you got no idea what version it is. I was giving the programmer the benefit of the doubt. You however, are trying to look smart and your not.
    Coder did it great as he used variables. It gives us the chance to customize the questions (btw, we use vocabulary as questions). I have created an excel file to randomize words, then copy the data in the excel file & paste in the settings.txt file. I can prepare many different question sets using this variables in a very short time. (under 60 sec.) So, the coder is not idiot.

  19. #19
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    883
    I'm not old, my students are also not old
    Unless your students are 5 year olds, this is self-contradictory statement
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

  20. #20
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,746
    Hey murat123, it looks like the FLA you have was created using a tool called JPEXS (a Flash decompiler) and is not the original source. I'm not sure how good the ouput from JPEXS is (I've never used it), but you're probably going to have a difficult time fixing this bug if you're working from just the reconstructed source.
    When your swf2exe tool just HAS to work
    there's only one choice... SWF Studio

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com