[LITTLE HELP] Create an "up-down" variable
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: [LITTLE HELP] Create an "up-down" variable

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    8

    [LITTLE HELP] Create an "up-down" variable

    Hello everybody!
    I need a variable to go up from 1 to 100, once at 100 go down back to 1, and so on, up and down.
    What is the best and easiest way to do it?

    Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,722
    The simplest would probably just to set the variable manually. A nice way to do that with one statement would be like this:
    Code:
    i=(i==1)?100:1;
    http://help.adobe.com/en_US/FlashPla...ml#conditional
    .

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    8
    Hi Swak, that only returns 1, 100, 1, 100, 1 ...and so on.
    Not the numbers between.
    I might be not clear indeed.
    I need a variable that returns "1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9...37..68...99,100 AND GO DOWN 99,98,97,96....6,5,4,3,2,1 AND GO UP AGAIN
    Thanks anyways

  4. #4
    Senior Member Alloy Bacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    730
    wow i=(i==1)?100:1; looks really cool how can you call a function with that? I have tried countless times to use that question mark

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,722
    tonaz79
    I see, there's a simple way of doing that then.
    Code:
    var i:int = 1;
    var c:int = 1;
    function count ():void {
    	i +=  c;
    	switch (i) {
    		case 100 :
    			c = -1;
    			break;
    		case 1 :
    			c = 1;
    			break;
    	}
    }
    This is the basic idea. I just used an enterFrame function to continuously call the count() function.



    Alloy Bacon
    The ? is not a function really. It's more like they took an if statement and turned it into an operator like the +-*/ symbols. Bascially you have 3 parts for it to work.
    s1?s2:s3
    s1 needs to be a bool. If s1 is true then it returns s2. Otherwise it returns s3.
    Here's an example: i=false?1:2;
    with that i will be equal to 2. If it's true then i will equal 1.
    I like it, it makes for a simple operator when you understand it. In fact you can use it for a if else shorthand.
    Here's an example: false?trace("1"):trace("2");
    That will always trace 2.
    .

  6. #6
    Senior Member Alloy Bacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    730
    Thats almost like .bat syntax

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,722
    If everything's good please add a "[RESOLVED][LITTLE HELP] Create an "up-down" variable" tag. Thanks!
    .

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    34
    lol no like bat. echo

  9. #9
    Senior Member Alloy Bacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    730
    lol who ever uses that syntax to type must look like this or something because thats not normal:

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    34
    now you be silly allooy.
    you say it look like .bat code, i say it not look like .bat code, you just want answer things when not right.

    http://www.instructables.com/id/5-Cool-Batch-Files/

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    34
    now you be silly allooy.
    you say it look like .bat code, i say it not look like .bat code, you just want answer things when not right.

    http://www.instructables.com/id/5-Cool-Batch-Files/

    good self pic you have, allieoony baccoony

  12. #12
    Senior Member realMakc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    870
    ��
    who is this? a word of friendly advice: FFS stop using AS2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com