PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Recording Voice Overs for Flash



billhdz
04-19-2001, 03:18 PM
Hello fellow Mac Flashers!

I wonder if there is a pro out there that can help me?

I want to do voice overs on my Mac G3 Blue to use with my flash cartoon animations.

What would be the best set-up to record directly on the Mac using a good microphone and doing the mixing with software.

I have heard of a product called iMic to connect to the USB port and of a card called "SOUNDBLASTER LIVE FOR MAC"
Please go to:
http://www.soundblaster.com/products/macintosh/

Would you mind looking at this product and let me know what you think or maybe suggest a better set-up?

I am looking for an affordable good quality sound and voice recording solution.

Thank You!!!

Bill H.

aldorr
04-20-2001, 05:58 AM
hi bill,
basically anything that will allow you to record onto the macs hard drive fast enough will do.
at our school we have a pinnacle dc 30 plus with audio and video setup for our sound computer. it seems to work pretty well.
the quality mostly depends on your studio setup. if you have a super expensive sound card and a crappy mic you'll have problems... and if your mic is wonderful, but you live next to a street and have the windows open, then, of course, that will not add to the quality of your sound.
people invest thousands and even millions of dollars on a good sound room....
so the imic is nice, but if you want something a little more professional, you should maybe go for the soundblaster live.
for a mic you may end up spending around 200 dollars and up.
and just make sure that you have a relatively sound-proof room and that you can't hear lots of external noises when you record... like the hard drive for instance.
usually you have a separate room for the voices and for the recording setup...
have fun,
-aldorr

Urbansory
04-23-2001, 12:26 PM
Well if you really on a bidget, get sound app from download.com, and find a mic that will plug into the back of the G3 mic jack.. Hey it works, if you want to get a little more into it, I use either Sound Edit16 or Final cut for all my audio needs. I highly suggest you have virtual memory off and at least 128 mgs, I use 256 on my G4. Since mac nolonger ship with RCA plugs we need to improvise.

Urbansory
04-23-2001, 12:26 PM
Well if you really on a budget, get Sound App from download.com, and find a mic that will plug into the back of the G3 mic jack.. Hey it works, if you want to get a little more into it, I use either Sound Edit16 or Final cut for all my audio needs. I highly suggest you have virtual memory off and at least 128 mgs, I use 256 on my G4. Since mac nolonger ship with RCA plugs we need to improvise.