PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Strata 3D



Kraken
08-07-2000, 06:34 PM
Has anyone gotten it to work? I have downloaded it about 3 times on 2 diff. computers...not luck. It sucks because I have the full version on my piece of crap Mac, but that's the problem...it's a piece...

I want some 3D action on my nicer PC, but can't afford anything right now...sucks to be me...

Rich

gooch
08-08-2000, 11:30 AM
there is apc version of strata?

Kraken
08-08-2000, 12:46 PM
Head to: http://www.3d.com and download the free version... But, be warned, I haven't been able to get it to work on my PC at home or at work...

let me know if it works for you.

Rich

Triadis
08-08-2000, 01:51 PM
Is it crashing? Or just not starting up? Maybe it can be fixed?

odi
08-08-2000, 02:44 PM
i'm a strata user...
the new version...it sux

dont even waste bandwith on it

i use strata studio pro, strata studio blitz
pixels 3d, maya and rhino...

wanna try a really good 3d program for mac...
try pixels 3d http://www.pixels3d.com

u need a lotta memory but it's worth

shamway
08-13-2000, 05:50 PM
i downloaded stara yesterday, and couldn't get it to work either.
it said i need windows nt while i have win 95.

baineandshephard
08-14-2000, 08:05 PM
I have strata, i've got it to work, but i was going to use it to create 3d files to animate in swift3d, but I couldn't figure out how to export it to the right file to be able to import it to swift, so basiclly it is totally useless, unleass someone can help me figure this out.

Kraken
08-15-2000, 02:45 AM
Pope should be showing up here pretty soon to confirm this, but I believe you should be able to just "save as" a 3ds format. That will save your model out as a 3d studio max format that can be opened in swift 3D. As I say, I still can't get the stupid thing to work on my win98 system. What OS are you running baineandshephard? Maybe there's a new release...I'll have to try it again.

Oh, and odi, yeah, pixels3D looks like a great program. I wish I had the cash. I can't afford anything right now. Can you export to 3ds format from pixels3d?

Rich

baineandshephard
08-15-2000, 08:09 AM
I'm running win98, I really didn't have any problem running it, just the whole "what's your registration # bit, but after that it was fine...

thanks for asking

baineandshephard
08-15-2000, 08:22 AM
ok, maybe it's because i've switched to decaf and sweet and low, but i can't seem to figure out how to export from strata as a 3ds for swift3d, it only want's to export or save as a t3d file

anyone? pope?

esa
08-15-2000, 06:06 PM
I got it to work on my win98/450mhz/128mb without any problems at all. my problem is that I think the program really sucks anyone who agree?

joeschmo
08-16-2000, 02:10 PM
Well, For all those PC people, get a mac. I'm not just saying that, but mac versions of most design/graphics programs were originally written for Mac, and they run better.

I've got it running on my Pismo powerbook (2000 model) just fine. I was wondering though: has anybody gotten it to integrate with flash a bit? this is the most annoying part because the still images imported take up huge amounts space.

Right now I'm making the 3d image in Strata, then bringing them into Freehand to clean them up a bit (and delete background, etc.) then importing into flash for huge .swf files. What a PITA!

baineandshephard
08-16-2000, 02:18 PM
actually, i'm lying...the suck.

but thanks for asking.

gooch
08-16-2000, 02:47 PM
macs are rad....

unless you want to do some 3d.

Go ahead and try to output for flash.
Go ahead and try and run industry standards like 3d studiomax
or softimage
Go ahead and run buggy ports


there has been some progress lately with pixel and cinema 4d
but.......

odi
08-17-2000, 06:34 AM
no offence but the mac's simply are faster
okey somtimes the are buggy but so are pc's

mac cube? new G4?

and indeed basicly all good graphic programs
are written for mac

i dunno what adobe is trying to do to macromedia, but i know for sure that a big mistake, whatever the are trying
(tabbed menustyle)

as i can remember from the old day's, that we all of us where sharing technology and knowlege... what happend?

Kraken
08-17-2000, 12:07 PM
Maya, the premiere 3D production and animation tool IS coming for the Mac. When OS X hits the streets, so does that software...or so I hear.

But, let's not turn this into "Mac sux, Pc rulz!". Let's stick to 3D. Whatever 3D package you use, can you export to 3ds max format so you can take it into swift 3D and then into flash? That's the real question. Better programs! Better OS! Better, faster, bigger! That's what I want, regardless if it's mac, pc, linux, sun, SGI, or even an old VAX machine...if it's better than what we got now, I like it.

Rich

odi
08-18-2000, 08:02 AM
what bout amiga, does anyone still uses that machine?
and whattabout flash for amiga?

baineandshephard
08-18-2000, 08:39 AM
how do you export to 3ds from strata 3d?


(i remember when i was a kid in the early 80's,
when macintosh was the thing...ah, my youth.)

odi
08-18-2000, 11:25 AM
when u download the free thing, forget it
u have to buy plugins, export tools, shaders, fx and more...
with the basic thing...

forget it

ahh those good old days