PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Poll: What Mac is everyone using here?



funkybudda
05-18-2001, 02:09 PM
hi all,


just want to see what everyone is using in the Mac Flash community here, for starter here's my set up:

G4 500 Titanium Powerbook
512mb RAM
20GB HD

would be nice if Apple put in the geforce2 MX video cards in these down the road...

motiv
05-18-2001, 02:31 PM
G3 w/DVD
256MB Ram
6GB HB (just a wee little one)

me2222
05-19-2001, 05:09 AM
G4 450 MP (wrooom! :D )
128 MB (need more!)
30 GB HD

UltraNEO
05-21-2001, 02:44 AM
G4 450 MP

Storage:
1Gb Ram (Cass 2)
30Gb System Drive (IBM)
75Gb SCSI Raid 1 (75Gb Seagate Cheater x2) (Work Drive)
DigiDesign D2D Recorder

Video Section:
19" Iiyama VMP 450 x2
ProPerformance III (Second video card)

Audio Section:
Linn Audio Power Amp and Pre-Amp
JBL Control 5 x2
DigiDesign ProTools



The system is configured to copy the system folder into RAM Disk then it restarts, takes only 5 second startup :)

I know... the momory's a over kill... but we still get low memory at times.
[Edited by UltraNEO on 05-21-2001 at 02:48 AM]

Mac8myPC
05-21-2001, 10:22 AM
i'm all old school :D

8500 w/ g3 upgrade

soon to go to the 400mhz upgrade :D

i'm too poor to buy a new mac :(

me2222
05-21-2001, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by Mac8myPC
i'm all old school :D

I bought my G4 some weeks ago.
Before that I was on a PowerCenterPro Mac-clone with a 604e/240Mhz processor.
When I bought the clone four years ago it was one of the fastest.
It was nearly as expensive as the G4, now it“s of no value :(
The rapid decrease of hardware“s value is a real pain.

freeheel
05-21-2001, 02:02 PM
450 G4
256 meg ram
60 + gig HD space
DVD RAM drive (which I never really use, waste of $$)
CDR/RW
OS X

pretty much stock otherwise.


_luke

hitechfunk
05-21-2001, 02:02 PM
G4 450
128mb (890 mb)

30 (3,000,000) gig

zip drive

scsi pci card
sony digital cam
sony digital camcord

manutara
05-22-2001, 08:26 PM
Just wondering!!!

Extras:

Apple Pro Keyboard
Apple Pro Mouse
80Gb FireWire Hard Drive
Monitor - Sony Multiscan G500 21' (realy Flat)
External usb Zip 100Mb
External scsi Jaz 1Gb
Mini DV - Canon XL-1

Helps?

brownknight
05-24-2001, 08:31 PM
imac dv - INDIGO
500 mhz, 192 ram, 20 GB HD, CDR
Apple Pro Keyboard & Mouse

sounds:
Harmon Kardon Soundsticks w/isub

p.s. i'm new here - is there a log in?

Urbansory
05-27-2001, 09:33 PM
G Fizzy 4 hizzy(G4 400 mHz)
256 Ram
A terrible 10 gb hard drive.
Well since my monitor is not the lovly 22 in studio display yet, I will not speak on it.
Weak external Que CD-RW.
DVD internal, no zip, whats the point of a zip any way, my files are way too big.
I have a 8 track reciever connected to my G fizzy, and I tell ya, the old radio really bump out that sound like it should be, I have house rockin, especially at restarts, DONGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!

I bought my computer when they first came out, now it's time my G fizzy has alittle company, another G fizzy, most likly a dual processor when the newer models roll out and a Titanium for my road trips.

I'll get OS X as soon as all my design apps are available for it, till then still OS 9.1

Sorry about the long post, I haven't posted in a while, damn it feels good to be home.

Capoeirista
05-27-2001, 11:56 PM
8600AV upgraded to a G4
256k (Not enough)
20 Gig HD, not enough.

I like this config because the AV model comes with RCA inputs for vid and audio. Still have one slot left.

I'm running a 13" monitor and a 20" monitor and a video card. I use the small monitor for tools and to keep me humble when I want to design pages that are too large.

:-)

Lee

Urbansory
05-28-2001, 01:39 AM
Has anyone ever worked on a G4 with max amount of memory installed? I wonder how it runs, I'm sure it's damn good, maybe I'll put a gig in my next CPU. Memory is cheap now, might skyrocket then, or worse change so that the current memory is invalid in future systems. I need to get my dual monitor setup together, makes work flow a breeze, slide stuff from one screen to the other., and one can be Windows gamma and the other Mac.

Is there any truth to what i heard about a G4 not being able to reconize a internal hardrive over 30 gb? Thats what i was told, or can partitions settle this issue? I'm about to purchase 2 hardrives, an IDE internal, and a firewire external for carriying things here and there and as my scratch disk for various apps, mostly PS.

NicolleR
05-29-2001, 07:36 AM
iBook G3
466
128MB

jhpool
06-06-2001, 06:14 PM
at work:
450 G4
320 RAM
50 gig HD
DVD
CDR/RW
Zip 100
20' flat multiscan monitor
Apple Pro keyboard and mouse (which I LOVE)
OS 9.1

at home:
233 Bondi Blue iMac (such a tiny monitor)
hockey puck Mac mouse (which I don't mind at all)
96 RAM
6 gig HD
CDR/RW
Zip 100
OS 8.6

soon to buy:
iBook, baby!
Momma needs her iBook!

Urbansory
06-07-2001, 01:01 AM
I love my hockey puck of a mouse, I hate this little @#$ keyboard though. I'll upgrade to the new attachments later, most likly the keyboard. Is it just me or does it seem as if the puck makes designing a breeze, I have reached the point where I twist it to do curve unknowingly aware that I do it. It works great for me when it's clean.

UltraNEO
06-16-2001, 03:14 PM
Urbansory, i don't know where you got the idea that a G4 can't run a HD greater than 30gb... I've seen AV setup with multiple 75Gb IDE HD's, we chosed SCSI for it's speed and raidabilty.

We don't backup really... anyway, whats the chance of two identical HD's failing at the same time??

UltraNEO
06-16-2001, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by Urbansory
I love my hockey puck of a mouse, I hate this little @#$ keyboard though. I'll upgrade to the new attachments later, most likly the keyboard. Is it just me or does it seem as if the puck makes designing a breeze, I have reached the point where I twist it to do curve unknowingly aware that I do it. It works great for me when it's clean.

*BUMP*
If your like me who preferes the original chuncky Apple Extended II Keyboard then may be you should invest in a USB to ADB adapter plus it works with Quark's ADB dongle. Costs about £40 plus tax

Urbansory
06-16-2001, 04:12 PM
Someone at MacMall told me that there is a chance anything over 40gig will not show, like 38gig or something will show. I was told this when i ordered some memory and was considering a new hard drive. For now my slow @#% Que CD-RW will do for backing up, but it is a pain if you do intense work like me. Is it just me or do 300dpi Photoshop files seem to average around 200mb, and that is not what a super production could be. A super production is a design for print where I try to create the cleanest clearest most appealing designs, they normally are over 200mb. I fill my hard drive within a week easy, a few minutes if I need to do video. UltraNEO I rather stick with the usb keyboared, bad enough I have this ugly @#% monitor making my setup look cheap.

SJT
06-18-2001, 10:36 PM
G4 DP 450
30GB
384MB

anyone else want to chat random stats???

megagumby
06-18-2001, 11:08 PM
64 MB blueberry imac DV
its all bad.. konks its about 10 times a day ;( getting memory upgrade. ok to start as a student, but unable to function flash properly if i save it to hard drive so currently running off CD... joy haha

Kirstenxx

Zacha K
06-19-2001, 08:00 PM
I am sooo with brownknight;

iMac DV - indigo
500 mhz, 192 ram, 20 GB HD, CDR
Apple Pro Keyboard & Mouse

I just didn't have the stomach for flower power...

brownknight
06-19-2001, 08:19 PM
zacha, we're twins!
i recommend getting the soundsticks, your gonna love it especially w/your itunes.

theasus
06-20-2001, 12:38 PM
My work machine:

G4 Dual 500Mhz
40Gb HD
768Mb Ram
21 Sony trinitron monitor
DVD-Ram
Promouse-keyboard
12x18 Agfa Duo Scan T2000XL Scanner
Konica RX-1 Slide/negative scanner
Fuji Pictrogaphy 4000 photo printer
CDR Drive

My home machine:
PPC G3 233Mhz
8Gb Hd
448Mb Ram
17 Sony monitor


(Thank god work paid for both.)

monkii
06-21-2001, 02:08 AM
G4 400
256mb Ram (need more!)
10gig HD
17' crappo monitor
adaptec 2940UW scsi card
zip drive
4x Cd Writer
Event Gina sound card.
puck mouse (which is strangely addictive)

-m

gparis
06-21-2001, 02:12 AM
G4 + 17'Apple Display (transparent one...sooo cool!)
450RAM
400Mhz
20 gigs HD
... and my coffee machine is a Faema Amica2! ;)
cheers
gparis

caronte2k1
07-06-2001, 09:04 AM
winner takes it all

PowerPC 6500/275
128 RAM
6 GB hd

I also tried on a PLUS but Flash doesn't work on a b/w monitor

BrainTea
07-07-2001, 07:17 PM
iMac DV 400, Red (ok, Ruby)
192mb RAM
10G HD
QPS CDRW-currently on the way to QPS for inspection/repair and they're being bastards
and slow but that's another story

Definitely will make huge upgrade someday,
when I start making a fortune as a world class
Flashhead :D but for a year now my little red iMac
has been a faithful, dependable, fast machine.

A huge-ass monitor will be welcome :)

steveguberman
07-17-2001, 09:38 AM
450 mhz G4
256 MB Ram (fiending more)
60GB hard drive
wacom tablet
ikey sweet keyboard
apple view something or other 19"

Teezshaa
07-17-2001, 02:07 PM
iBook
500Mhz PowerPC G3
with the combo drive

civic_kid
07-19-2001, 12:09 PM
took them forver, but my work finally got me a mac, mainly for cross platform testing, (we're a web co.)

533mhz G4
384 RAM
40 GB HD
mac OS 9.1

Mongoose49
07-19-2001, 05:06 PM
Im on a dp 450 w/gig ram
50 gig hd
2 60 gig scsi hd's w/raid capibilities,
i love the dp, great for 3d rendering which is what i love to do. also i suggest every1 go buy ram.
check out coastmemory.com if u dont already know it, and by the way some of u guys r fulla crap there is no dp 500 only the dp 533 and dp 450 unless u piggybacked 2 motherboards but then i doubt it.

Mongoose49
07-19-2001, 05:22 PM
Im on a dp 450 w/gig ram
50 gig hd
2 60 gig scsi hd's w/raid capibilities,
i love the dp, great for 3d rendering which is what i love to do. also i suggest every1 go buy ram.
check out coastmemory.com if u dont already know it, and by the way some of u guys r fulla crap there is no dp 500 only the dp 533 and dp 450 unless u piggybacked 2 motherboards but then i doubt it.

glowingedges
07-21-2001, 04:34 AM
Some of you got good comps and I wish I had your guyz Ram.

Dule 450mhz G4
256 Ram, (wish for more)
No Speakers Cept the built in one
DVD-RAM drive
NEC 19" MultiSync 95 Monitor
Que 12 Speed FireWire CD-RW
USB IomegaZip
Apple Pro Mouse
Apple Pro Keyboard
RAGE 16 AGP Graphics Card
OS 9.1 and OS X(Got tonight :D, some problems though cause I dont know what to do...yet.)

ocular_bob
07-27-2001, 10:33 AM
G4 450 sawtooth -w/512mb
Rev.B imac -w/256mb

me2222
07-28-2001, 05:49 AM
Originally posted by Mongoose49
...and by the way some of u guys r fulla crap there is no dp 500 only the dp 533 and dp 450 unless u piggybacked 2 motherboards but then i doubt it.

Aha!?
There was a DP 500! See it here:
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/stats/powermac_g4_500_dp.html
and every other MAC or MAC clone ever manufactured at http://www.everymac.com/

Does anybody know of a Mac tuning site or something?
I want to tune my DP450 to 500Mhz. I“ve seen a description how to do it in a german Mac journal, but I can“t remember when it was and which journal.

BTW:
I“ve upgraded to 384MB RAM.
I have a second graphics card with a second monitor.
I have an Adaptec SCSI card for my old SCSI hardware (CD burner and scanner).
And I have my pretty old MiroMotion DC20 videodigitizer card attached (just for some fun digitizing).

Can anyone suggest a two button mouse?
I“m thinking about buying one.

cheers

JanMc
07-28-2001, 10:08 AM
G4 500
193MB RAM
(I only had 64 MB until a week ago!)


I love my mac! I have noticed a huge difference since I installed more memory, but I don't know if I have enough. Any opinions?

Hummercash
07-29-2001, 01:01 AM
Just ordered my dual 800 g4's, 1.5gb ram, geforce3, 22" cinema display :)

And i asked one of the guys in the macromedia booth last week at macworld expo when they will be releasing a carbonized versoin of flash... all he said was 'next version' and when i asked if that meant flash6 he said 'next version is all im going to say'.

I wasn't too happy w/ adobe either... they didn't even have a working version of ps6 under osx :(

alberto sejas
08-02-2001, 10:49 AM
DV 366MHz, 10 GB, I made all my sites with it. And works! I have a G4 400MHz only for sound composition and effects. But i don“t go online with it.

crackergrrl
08-02-2001, 07:15 PM
I'm on a G4 500
386 mb ram
one 40 gig hd and one 60 gig
running osx.1, 9.1, and osx server
and a radeon graphics card with a studio display
DVD, zip and burner...

-Val

morenko
08-02-2001, 11:41 PM
G4 400Mhz desktop

448 Ram

30GB ATA Quantum Fireball HD

SCSI card for 250MB ZIP, APS CD-R and Scanner.

Second video card for Dual Monitor set up.

Both are Apple Monitors. One is from way back when I had a Quadra 800 and the other is the new "Studio Display" Both are 16'.

Michael

IsuckWithFlash
08-03-2001, 10:34 AM
mac g4 350mhz, 576 mb ram 16 mb vram

Urbansory
08-03-2001, 01:21 PM
All of you with the flat screen displays, how do you like them? I'm sick of this heat radiating monitor, I need something that is sleek and takes up less room. They don't give off heat do they? Are the new G4's quiet? My G4's fan is so damn irratating. It's not all that loud but after awhile it seems to be the only thing I distintively hear.

cartoondoom
08-03-2001, 11:23 PM
powermac g3 350mhz (blue&white)
704 megs of ram
6 gig stock drive + 60 gig IBM drive
32 meg radeon mac edition video card
(i added an internal cr-rw drive, but i forget the model)
21" sony trinitron monitor (flat as a pancake and beutiful to look at)
12"x12" wacom intuos tablet
microsoft optical mouse pro
kensington optical pro (yes i use two mice at once)

i think that covers it

oh yeah, i also have a lombard powerbook that is pretty much stock, except that it's maxed out on ram.

and that's it. hopefully i'll get a job soon so i can get one of those duel 800 numbers.

Hummercash
08-04-2001, 11:25 PM
hey urbansory...
i have 2 of the 22" cinema displays and 1 of the 17"... they all RULE... crisp picture, good color... VERY nice monitors.

I suggest you go for the 22"... i like those the best :)

digisoap
08-05-2001, 11:59 PM
PC all the way baby. Who really uses Macs any more for design ;)?

(that was a joke, no flaming please. But yes, really, i'm all PC)

alberto sejas
08-06-2001, 08:41 AM
... Virtual PC on mac, it works better as a real PC :).
Try to make your PC work as a Mac... And we can speak after that again.

Little Ben
08-06-2001, 08:58 AM
G3 (Blue)
400MHz
256 RAM

and

iMac Special Edition (Graphite) mmm..
400MHz
128 RAM

and

Powerbook 3400
Slow (now)
64 RAM

Digital Visualist
08-09-2001, 03:25 PM
G3-400mhz (B&W DVD)
512m RAM
2-17" side by side monitors (great for PS pallettes)

Number Three
08-09-2001, 09:54 PM
Powerbook G3 / 300 with 128MB of RAM, and a G3 / 300 Beige with 160MB of RAM. The beige G3 has a 21" ViewSonic on a Voodoo5 card and then a little 13" for all my tool palettes. (^_^)

http://www.number-three.com/myset.jpg ...

gparis
08-09-2001, 11:18 PM
I said earlier I'm using a MAC G4. Today i bought a 2nd puter for the music studio, a nice beige G3... Sooo, you could say i have a MAC G7 right? :)
gparis

3quid
08-10-2001, 08:28 AM
G4 450
384 mb RAM
27 Gb Hard Drive
22" Monitor

:)

Damaris
08-24-2001, 05:31 PM
G4 450 MHz Cube (so..so silent..AAHH!!..)
448 MB RAM
20 GB HD

This machine ROCKS!!

I Love my MAC,
Damaris

cmmjars
08-24-2001, 05:44 PM
I have;

iceBook
G3 500
384 MB Ram
10 gig HD

Ouicksilver
G4 Dual 800
1.25 gig Ram
80 gig HD
60 gig HD

Chris

BrainTea
08-24-2001, 07:26 PM
Originally posted by cmmjars
I have;

iceBook
G3 500
384 MB Ram
10 gig HD

Ouicksilver
G4 Dual 800
1.25 gig Ram
80 gig HD
60 gig HD

Chris

Ya lucky bum!!!

danway
08-25-2001, 06:18 PM
Power Mac 867 G4
60 GB HD
1.536 GB ram
nVidia Ge Force 3 with 64 MB ram
superdrive
and a slow 56k modem,..... rockin!
I think I'm at home here, I love Flash and Apple!

Daniel

LuminaryMedia
08-26-2001, 06:32 AM
Old biege box G3 300mhz OS 9.0.4
384Mb Ram
8GB & 40GB HD (replacing 8GB with another 40+)
12X/10X/32X CDRW (Firewire External)
Firewire&USB PCI card
Dual 17" Mitsub Diamond Pros & ATI Radeon Video
Want to add a 3rd monitor(19") but I'm probably due a new CPU and bigger desk first:)

Box runs great. Problem free and fast enough for Flash. Will keep it as a second system.

surbina
08-26-2001, 04:04 PM
G4 450DP
9.2.1
60 gb HD
768 ram
*waiting for PUMA*

UltraNEO
12-25-2005, 06:00 AM
Merry christmas everyone!!!

Oh, my damn powerbook died after fourteen months of service :-(
Can't believe Apple wants to charge 700 quid for a new logic board.

*crys*

gerbick
12-25-2005, 06:06 AM
wow... this is a 4 year old thread.

sorry to hear about your logic board... have you checked out either eBay or local shops? I replaced my G4 Cube's board for like 1/8th the cost that Apple demanded.

UltraNEO
12-25-2005, 06:14 AM
wow... this is a 4 year old thread.

Is it? :o
Sorry, I've been really busy.


sorry to hear about your logic board... have you checked out either eBay or local shops? I replaced my G4 Cube's board for like 1/8th the cost that Apple demanded.

Actually no. What I did do, was to stripped it. Later managed to sell off the TFT for almost 15% of the machine's value. Kinda hopping to sell the rest, bit by bit. So anyone want any PowerBook G4 15 parts give me a holla!