PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Replaying movie does not reload XML files

cathl
06-28-2001, 10:47 AM
Hi, I am new to Flash and XML.

I have read most of the posts here and still can't work out how to get Flash to reload an XML file.

I have a Flash movie embedded in an html page which calls a PHP script which reads from a database and creates an XML file with the data from the database.

My Flash movie then reads the data from the XML file. If I change the data in the database and refresh the html page the XML file changes but the data shown in the movie is still the old data.

I have tried using XML.onLoad and XML.loaded to verify that the XML file has been loaded but this has no effect.
Can anyone help?
Thanks.

VAYKENT
06-28-2001, 03:44 PM
How sure are you that Flash is the link that's failing you?? Are you sure that the PHP script is being called? Are you sure that the PHP script is getting new data?? Are you sure that the new data is being written OVER the old data??

I'd try to verify all of this before wondering if Flash is messin' you up - not because Flash is infallible, but because what you're doing in Flash seems easier than what you're doing in PHP...

You also need to realise that Flash's XML loading is not syncronous.. in other words... you can't say, "Load!!", and have it 'poof!!' load... it will load the XML when ever it gets done.. so if you're trying to access the data from the loaded XML.. you'll need to make sure it's done.. which I guess you've tried to do by using .onLoad and .loaded...

Alright.. you've stumped me.. Do you have to clear out your internet cache to notice changes??? (Yeah... I'm stretchin' here)

tupps
06-28-2001, 06:30 PM
You might also have a problem with your database taking some time. Eg if you submit to the DB and then immediately load the XML you may have read the database before the changes are reflected.