PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Anyone explain for me?



Noodles
05-06-2000, 09:59 AM
Ok I downloaded some sounds but when I try to import them into flash or add them to the library it says that it is unrecognised and would I like to try another application. Then I end up with an icon in the movie and thats it!
Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance.

------------------
Noodles

dbeprez
05-06-2000, 09:19 PM
what's the file extensio. If it not >WAV it won't work

dbeprez
05-06-2000, 09:20 PM
or .au files for MAC users

Noodles
05-06-2000, 09:51 PM
Yeah its .Wav! Just that winamp decided it would change them all over to wma. When I rename back to wav it says they are not correct format etc.
Ta!

------------------
Noodles

jydnas
05-07-2000, 12:57 AM
Do this with out Flash!

Go into the folder that has the sound files
you are talking about.
Right click on it and choose PLAY

In Windows Media Player Choose Properties
and click on Advanced....

What Filters are in use?
____________________________________

Also go here and Get Arachnophilia http://www.arachnoid.com
It's a free file editor...

Just do it and i'll explain later.

Noodles
05-07-2000, 06:27 AM
filters= windows media source filter
windows media audio decoder
& Default direct sound device

Discuss!


------------------
Noodles

jydnas
05-08-2000, 01:45 AM
ok i just wanted to make sure it did not have the mp3 filter.

even though it has the .wav file extension
Flash still does not except it.

all the .wav files i use only have this filter

Default direct sound device

What is the sample rate of the sound file
you are having trouble with?

Noodles
05-08-2000, 05:24 PM
Same as the others 44100 I seem to remember.
Thanks for trying man!

------------------
Noodles

jydnas
05-09-2000, 02:18 AM
Could you send me a .wav file that you are having trouble with i will have a look at it.

This is strange because
it's a .wav file sample rate is 44.1khz
and does not have the mp3 filter
then it should import into Flash.

So send me one.

elfmuse
05-11-2000, 04:18 PM
Just a note, don't ever have anything changed over to *.WMA
Windows media has some copy protection stuff in it that has been known to cause problems like that. Just keep it as WAV. IF it gets changed over it is easier(but a pain in the but) to start over.

Noodles
05-11-2000, 07:06 PM
Thanks for the help.
I thought it was something to do with winamp.
Bye the way jydnas, what am I doing with arachno?
cheers


------------------
Noodles

jydnas
05-12-2000, 01:11 AM
I'll explain...

I downloaded a couple of .wav's one time
and could not Import them into Flash

And what i found was the audio files had the mp3 filter.
so it was an mp3 with the .wav file extension.

So what i had to do was open it up in arachophilia and save it as an mp3.

Then use winamp to convert it back to .wav

That is how i did it.
Now i could have used something else to do it.

but arachnophilia is a powerful editor
that lets you view any file type and save it
as any file.

you can use it for HTML,javascript,C,CGI,Perl
and just about anything else
Best of all it's totally FREE.

jydnas
05-12-2000, 01:16 AM
Just so you know
i did check out one of the files
noodles sent me and found that it was
an invalid file or corrupt.

It was in fact RAW Headerless data.
The file he sent me was about 90k
i Have the original sound file in my soundfx folder of that sound and
it was around 400kb
big difference


so his file was compressed

jimarse
05-12-2000, 04:40 PM
I'm on a mac and am having similar problems importing a .wav file downloaded from the web.
I get "all the files not available".
Do I have to use a program like Arachnopholia to re-format the file, and if so which program?

jydnas
05-13-2000, 01:04 AM
No ya don't need that
But what you do need to do is to somehow convert
the .wav to .aiff
in order to import the audio file.

mac uses .aiff

IG88
05-17-2000, 12:23 AM
SoundForge works for this...

shamway
05-17-2000, 05:38 PM
hi guys
i know this is not the problem noodels had but for general information, i had the same problem and found out that it happend since the sound i was trying to import was playing in windows media player. after i exited windows media player i had no problem importing it.
hope i helped some one :)