PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : roomlist component



kale10
01-19-2003, 05:10 AM
hi ppl...

been having problems with my roomlist component..it doesnt update the

no of users for that room...i tried out the sample_lobby and

sample_room and the no.of users doesnt get updated either...

i went through the "using flash components".pdf and followed exactly

thier instructions but it still wouldnt work...

:confused:

anyone here ecnounter the same problem..i saw some posts on the

macromedia forum abt problems with the roomlist too but they haven

got a solution...hope someone here can get it working...thanks!!! :)

Reamon
01-27-2003, 06:13 AM
Maybe you have a problem with the cache, or not?

kale10
01-27-2003, 12:25 PM
hi Reamon...

u mean u got it to work?? if its the cache problem how do i solve it jus clear it?? if so where can i clear it...

thanks for yr reply...

:)

Reamon
01-28-2003, 04:43 AM
may you can send an extra variable. So if yo must update you say: file.file?id=random(999999);

gamist
01-30-2003, 02:13 PM
I also, couldn't get the roomlist to work, using the manual. So, I bought Kevin Towes' book, because it has a chapter on an example using the roomlist. I can get the chat rooms to have their own identity, but I still can not get the friggin' user number to update. It always says "0".

The problem probably lies within the code that he uses to reprogram the joinroom function (pg 185). He uses the code:

this.so.data[selectedRoom].users++;

If anyone has this book and has already worked through this, please please please post the answer here. Many people seem to be having problems with the manual, and Towes book.

Thanks,
gamist

kale10
01-31-2003, 03:13 AM
hi gamist...

care to share how u got the rooms to have their own identity??

thanks in advance....

:)

gamist
01-31-2003, 03:47 PM
Towes' technique is different than the manual. The manual "shows" you how to create the lobby using html and javascript, but Towes uses one flash application. He offers a free download of his sample:

http://flashcom.pangaeanewmedia.com/

You'll notice problems with it, but they are all minor except the amount of users. As soon as I figure that one out, I will post it.

gamist

kale10
02-03-2003, 10:41 PM
thanks gamist..ive downloaded the sample..but i cant use the method towes's is using... im still tyring to use the old method... i think the problem lies in the server to server call...

ive tried the sample_room and sample_lobby examples again and they work now...

thanks for yr help anyway.... :cool:

gamist
02-04-2003, 09:20 PM
That's great that you got it to work. Could you give a summary of what you did different? I would love to give the manual another shot.

kale10
02-05-2003, 09:57 AM
the only difference was i hosted it on my web server and access the application through localhost... i didnt make any changes to the sample_lobby and sample_room applications...hope this helps...

the samples work but i cant get my own application to work though...
:(

Novian
02-10-2003, 08:28 PM
Hi kale10,

Could you elaborate, please? Does your roomslist component actually update the number of users? Where did you place your files?

Thanks.

kale10
02-11-2003, 01:03 AM
hello..

yup the roomlist does update the no. of users.. i did not move any of

the files form the sample_lobby or sample_room... all i did was host

it on a web server, opened a browser and typed

"http://localhost/flashcom/applications/sample_lobby/sample_lobby.html"

in the address bar and everything was working fine...



:) let me know if u still cant get the samples to work...

Novian
02-13-2003, 01:01 PM
Hey kale10,

I finally got around to testing out the sample_lobby. Again, it doesn't seem to want to update the number of users. Why is it that I have the strangest feeling that this may be a version problem e.g. I have an older version of this sample_lobby that doesn't work and you have a newer one.

Question: Could you provide a link to your sample_lobby so I/we can take a look. Either that or could I snag a copy of your .fla, please?

Thanks.

kale10
02-16-2003, 11:04 AM
hi novian..maybe u can leave me yr email address if u dont mind and i will mail u the files. or if u have an ftp i can also upload the files there.:D

stoem
02-17-2003, 07:37 AM
there is a bug in the main.asc AFAIK

Try the attached main.asc for the sample_room app. Thanks to Adam at rawnet.com for tracking this down.

stoem

Novian
02-17-2003, 02:10 PM
Hi Stoem,

I appreciate you creating the link to a new main.asc for the sample_room. Unfortunately, I'm still having a problem getting my lobby to update the number of users. Any new thoughts on why?

kale10:

Did you receive my email?

FK members who might be reading this post:

Has anyone been able to get this component to work?

Thanks.

:confused:

kale10
02-18-2003, 10:39 AM
hi novian...ive emailed u the files...hope it works..

other than the samples ive also got mine own working... now im trying

to remove the simpleconnect component and get it to work...

:D