PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Load movie question



evolbeagle
12-11-2000, 09:38 PM
I'm using the load movie approach on this latest project I'm working on. I'm wondering about the difference between two approaches.

Approach #1: Main movie loads and plays. A click on a menu button loads (and plays) a small submenu movie of about 3-6k.

Approach #2: Main movie loads and plays. It also loads and stops the submenu movie (loads it without playing it). A click on a menu button then plays the already loaded submenu movie.


Approach #1 seems to yield a faster loading of the main movie, but there is often a delay the first time the submenu movie is loaded before it plays. Sometimes this delay is just long enough that the visitor may think the button has no effect and moves on.

Approach #2 would seem to solve the submenu movie delay problem since the movie is already loaded. But would it result in a slower loading of the main movie (since it has to load the submenu movie at the outset as well)? (In actuality, there would be 8 or so of the submenu movies to load, with a combined total of 24-48k.) Of course, for this approach, I suppose a preloader could be added to the main movie.

So my question: What's the better approach? Or is there even a third possibility I've not thought of?

Here's a more or less current version of the project so you can see what I mean. It uses Approach #1. (Ignore the photo; it is now officially just a placeholder until the actual pictures are ready. Also, only some of the menu buttons have working submenus and most of the submenu links are still dead ends.)

http://demo.voikos.com/ebs/home3.html

Thanks.

Bob Hartzell
12-12-2000, 07:38 AM
I can't answer your question but I have noted in this version of the web page and the previous that the image is terribly distorted like it is stretched. I am using 800 x 600 resolution.

johnie
12-12-2000, 11:17 AM
To fix the Distortion of the Bit map you will need to scan your image in at a larger size and then make everything big. Then in the HTML leave it set at its currunt setting.

To fix the delay you would want to preload the SWF. I found a script that does this and I will repost it here later today.

evolbeagle
12-12-2000, 12:06 PM
Bob,

When you say distorted, are you referring to the the fact that the buildings and other objects are squatty and blurred? If so, then this is not caused by the stretching to fill the screen. It's a result of me trying to use a photo I already had to fill a space I had in mind by reshaping it and blurring it (to achieve a motion-like effect) before adding it to the movie. The idea didn't work very well which is one reason I'm not using it in the final product. (It also doesn't fit the context of the page very well.)

Here's the full-screen version:

http://demo.voikos.com/ebs/home3.html

And here's the set size version:

http://demo.voikos.com/ebs/home2.html

At 800 x 600, these two images shouldn't look all that different. If the image looks just as bad to you in the set size version, then chalk that up to my lame attempt to "motionize" the image.

If, on the other hand, the image only looks bad in the full-screen version, please let me know how it is different (pixelation, etc.). I looked at it in 800 x 600 and 1024 x 768 and both seemed of similar quality to me.

For the final product, I'm actually going to use photos supplied by the client. It'll look something like this:

http://demo.voikos.com/ebs/home5.html

...except that these are again just low quality placeholder images put it to give the general idea.

Anyway, thanks for the help. As a designer-wannabe, I certainly need it.

Bob Hartzell
12-12-2000, 01:50 PM
This is what I see
http://www.koolmoves.com/deletelater.jpg

home5.html looks fine.

evolbeagle
12-12-2000, 02:31 PM
Wow! Thanks for taking the time to capture that image and put it up for comparison. It looks like you are seeing what I'm seeing, so I'm going to say the problem is a crappy initial graphic and not the full-screen setting. When I get the actual photos I'm using in the site, I'll post again to make sure they look okay.

Thanks again!

BTW, the first time I tried to preview this reply to check for errors, etc., I got this message:

Fatal error: Failed opening required 'admin/config.php' (include_path='.:/www/flashkit/board:/usr/local/stow/php/lib/php:/www/flashkit/html') in /www2/flashkit/board/global.php on line 31

...just in case any site programmers happen to read this thread.

johnie
12-12-2000, 02:35 PM
Yup, The screenshot is what I see also.




I got the same error twice today.

Fatal error: Failed opening required 'admin/config.php' (include_path='.:/www/flashkit/board:/usr/local/stow/php/lib/php:/www/flashkit/html') in /www2/flashkit/board/global.php on line 31