PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Pre-Load



GaijinTiger
12-12-2000, 06:38 PM
What is the best way to have a "flashing" preload sequence? Would one create a backdrop swf and use the Load Movie action. And if so, does the backdrop on the loaded movie allow any transparency?

Any thoughts on this?

johnie
12-12-2000, 07:16 PM
Well,

When you use load movie then the background defualts to the layer movies background in layer 0. You can get around this by placing a shape in the higher level and either filling with a bitmap or a color then sending that shape to the back.

As to the preloader. The load movie method is one way and another way is to use the built in preloader and yet another way is to use a Java Script preloader. All three methods will work.

johnie
12-12-2000, 07:26 PM
here is 1 preloader script.

<SCRIPT language="JavaScript">
// code by DDT
// Interweb Research Norte
// http://www.interweb-research.net
// Sep 2000
function preload(){
var peli = window.document.movie;
var porcentaje = peli.PercentLoaded();
peli.SetVariable("porciento",porcentaje);
if (porcentaje == "100"){clearTimeout;}
setTimeout ("preload();",25);
}
</script>

johnie
12-12-2000, 07:56 PM
It may be possible to create a a bar like preloader with FS commands and Javascript. More on that is here:


http://www.anet.ro/dol/tutorial%20flash/actions.htm

GaijinTiger
12-12-2000, 10:06 PM
Okay that's great. Of the three I like the last however, I did notice a small problem. In the tut. it referes to a graphic that shows a feature on the Actions tab called "FS Command". I don't see a smiliar tab anywhere.

Perhaps I'm not looking hard enough. Or is there another way to send FS Commands.

As you can tell...I'm still quite the neophyte.

GaijinTiger
12-13-2000, 03:22 AM
Okay, after I read like 99 percent of the threads I know a lot more. I understand how to use javascript (I think) and the whole pre-loader problem seems to be moot at this point. Better get to animating.

Thanks though.

johnie
12-13-2000, 11:55 AM
Yeah I haven't played with it to much but it appears that Flash 3 and above allows you to send javascript commands into a SWF. More on that is available in the Scripting and backend section.

cheekylover
12-13-2000, 01:33 PM
The preloader script that you included in this thread....how would I tweek it for these purposes:

12 scenes. Preloader in first scene. Want all scenes to load before starting.

Only a simple animation as preloader.

If the questions seem very newbie, that's cuz they are.

Where on the actionscripts layer (that I created) would I put this script? At the end of the preloader animation?

johnie
12-13-2000, 02:23 PM
You put it in your HTML :D

You do that with all FS scripts and then call them in the get URL action by calling them typing by Javascript:Function or method name();

you can also call methods that way.


I haven't played with FS commands much. But since it appears that I am only going to have to work a half day today -cuase of snow I may play with tghem tonight.

GaijinTiger
12-13-2000, 03:01 PM
I want to make sure that I understand this...All of the FS commands can be inserted in the form of a Javascript function and pasted into the "get URL" slot in the actions palette???

I know I have more to check on the scripting side but I wanna make sure I'm at least in the same book before I get on the same page. :)

johnie
12-13-2000, 03:47 PM
There is better discusion of this in scripting and backend but I think that they can be called from the web document and any method can be sent to a web document from the get URL section.

I will have to play with it some before I can get you a better answer.

Until then read thess threads:

http://www.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=69613

http://www.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=66548

http://www.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=66337

http://www.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=65513

http://www.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=64499

Bob may have some Knowldge of calling SWF FS Commands from external Javascript. Search Flash 3 tuts on the search engines.

Also we might want to ask David Michie (the Webmaster of Open SWF and Developer of Swish about calling FS commands from Javascript.)

David sometimes will answer questions in other forums.

Bob Hartzell
12-13-2000, 06:37 PM
I am ignorant in these matters.

johnie
12-13-2000, 07:05 PM
Dave hasn't responded either.

I have found some tuts:

http://www.builder.com/Graphics/RW/030499/
http://www.echoecho.com/flashjavascript.htm
http://www.macromedia.com/support/flash/ts/documents/tn4160.html
http://www.flashbible.com/Members/FSCommand/FSCommand.htm
http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/98/25/index2a_page3.html?tw=multimedia


It was impossible to make a percent loaded preloader in Flash 3. FS commands had to be used. I'm completing a tut now and will post my results.