PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : How to create an object in all frames at once?



reedwade
12-14-2000, 02:41 PM
Suppose I'm well into work on a movie and have lots of frames already
created. Then I realize I want some new object to appear in most or
all the frames.

Is there a simpler way than to create it in frame 1 and manually copy
it into every other frame?

thanks,
-reed

(also, is this web site extraordinarily slow for anyone else?)

evolbeagle
12-14-2000, 02:56 PM
One way to do it is to create the object in one frame and copy it. Then go to the next frame and click "paste shapes to end" in the Edit drop down menu.

But, let's say you have 10 frames and the new object should only go in frames 4 through 8. (Small numbers, I know, but the idea is the same.) Make the object in 4 and copy it. Go to frame 5 and paste shapes to end. Then go to frame 9 and select the shape using the "select to end" mode. (That's the last button on the shape selection bar that sticks out when you mouse down on the shape selector tool [arrow button] -- if that makes any sense.) Anyway, in frame 9 select the shape with this "select to end" mode and delete the shape. This will delete it in frames 9 and 10 only, leaving the shape in frames 4 through 8 as we wanted.

Learning how to do this really saved me a bunch of time in KM projects.

Hope this helps.

johnie
12-14-2000, 03:01 PM
Create your shape or shapes in 1 Frame then select them (for multiple shapes hold down the shift key)then copy them and paste to file. Then go over to file and use the insert Movie command. This will let you place your shapes into multiple frames at one time.

You can also use this trick with animation sequences by highlighting frames in the list frame dialog, copy them, and then pasting the frames to file. Then use the insert movie command in the file menu.

reedwade
12-14-2000, 03:12 PM
Thanks! I am saved.

-reed

evolbeagle
12-14-2000, 03:18 PM
See, there's another way I didn't even know about. And, yes, this board has been terribly slow and error-prone of late.

evolbeagle
12-14-2000, 03:27 PM
I just tried the past to file method and it wouldn't let me select an ending frame past my starting frame. I could pick any starting frame I wanted to, but then the ending frame would always match it. No matter what I selected, it would revert to the same number as the starting frame, meaning that I could only insert into one frame at a time.

I'm still on 1.66 and haven't upgraded yet.

johnie
12-14-2000, 06:59 PM
Yeah, I just noticed that also. In order for the paste to file to go more than 1 frame you must have 2 key frames in the fun file that you are pasting. If you open your paste to file up, then hit the copy to end tab, then save and reopen your page you can then set it to go in any series of frames.

Your method is probably easier while as the paste to file method gives you more control and will allow you to add to lets say Frames 8-15 of 100 frames.