PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Yahoo sitebuilder



rterrell
02-19-2007, 04:01 PM
My web host is yahoo sitebuilder. I have followed the instructions for inserting HTML into my webpage. I copied both the script and the swf file into sitebuilder into the same folder. I created a simple animation and I can't figure out what went wrong.

Thanks
Rhonda

Genesis F5
02-19-2007, 05:11 PM
Welcome to Flash Kit. :)

I don't know what went wrong, either. Can you give us some more details? Along the lines of what you were expecting and what happened. The more specific you are helps us determine the problem.

rterrell
02-19-2007, 05:51 PM
Well, I published my animation and it worked; however, I cannot view it in the preview browser.

Genesis F5
02-20-2007, 04:09 PM
Did you change the file's address in the script? Give some specifics as to what the directory is called, file names. Also, paste the embed code you're using here. It sounds like the target address for the SWF is wrong.

rterrell
02-20-2007, 05:50 PM
sitebuilder has three folders created, one is images and the other is scripts and the third something else. I put both the js. and the swf files in the script folder. It was my understanding that they both went in the same folder.

I pasted this into the head like the instructions said:

<script src="AC_RunActiveContent.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

And inserted this into my website where I wanted the animation:

<script type="text/javascript">AC_FL_RunContent('codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,65,0','loop','true','bgcol or','#ebc696','width','368','height','298','src',' browncourthousebg','quality','high','pluginspage', 'http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer','movie','browncourthousebg');
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" id=browncourthousebg width=368 height=298 codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,65,0">
<param name="movie" value="browncourthousebg.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="play" value="true" />
<param name="loop" value="true" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#ebc696" />
<embed src="browncourthousebg.swf" width=368 height=298 bgcolor="#ebc696" quality="high" loop="true"
type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspace="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
</object></noscript>

Genesis F5
02-20-2007, 05:59 PM
No, it doesn't work like that. When the HTML page is loaded it sees that "AC_RunActiveContent.js" is an external file so it calls it and runs it as if it were embedded locally. That means that all files called in JS file are also targetted locally unless you give a full target path. As it is now, the Javascript file is looking for browncourthousebg.swf in the same folder your HTML page is located. If you want to keep the swf and .js file together, you need to supply a target path to the scripts folder, like:

http://somesite/scripts/browncourthousebg.swf

rterrell
02-20-2007, 06:02 PM
If I don't keep them together, which folder do I put the swf file into? The same folder as the HTML?

Genesis F5
02-20-2007, 06:04 PM
Yes. So it's [HTML / INDEX / ROOT] = page.html flash.swf and [SCRIPTS] = javascript.js

rterrell
02-20-2007, 06:05 PM
The other folder is preview. There is no HTML folder.

Genesis F5
02-20-2007, 06:08 PM
Well try it there. When you complete your site / publish it with the builder, I think it will create another folder. If not, preview is it, then.

Edit: And make sure you change your javascript embed to match the target of the scripts folder.