A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Forms in Flash 4!! Help me please!!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    28
    I'm trying to get a (very) simple form to work on my site with name, email + comments fields.

    I've tried every tutorial, fla and looked all over the boards but I can't get it to work.

    Please help, It's driving me mad - I'm sending the info to a CGI form/mail script on a different server to the movie. The present code is......

    On (Release)
    Set Variable: "subject" = "Feed Back Form"
    Set Variable: "recipient" = "me@email.com"
    Load Variables ("http://www.server.com/cgi-bin/userform.cgi", 0, vars=GET)
    Go to Next Frame
    End On

    Please, please help me


  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Venice, CA
    Posts
    88
    I normally send form variables with Get URL - the drawback being that it naturally wants to load another, well, URL (which I usually load into a hidden frame, or find other ways to work around, blah blah)...

    Get URL ("http://www.server.com/cgi-bin/userform.cgi", vars=POST)

    Anyway, have you tried using the POST method instead? Might help.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    28

    password?

    Thanks for the reply

    I'm just thinking (it is 1 in the morning here and I've been up since 6:30) The CGI is on a different server and hence needs a password and username surely.......

    ooops...Anyone got any ideas?


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    303

    Re: password?

    Originally posted by P15TOL
    Thanks for the reply

    I'm just thinking (it is 1 in the morning here and I've been up since 6:30) The CGI is on a different server and hence needs a password and username surely.......

    ooops...Anyone got any ideas?

    Your flash movie and the cgi script have to be in the same folder....and if you are just getting a html file generated then you can send it with getURl....if you are trying to load somehting back then you use loadvariable.
    cheers
    gary

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center