A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: looking for tutorial/resources...

I am currently working on projects that involve using flash within director movies. (I am fairly new to flash)

I am looking for any tutorials/resources - online or print - that will help me understand how flash and director can talk to each other... (i am currently working in flash 5 and director 8)

any help appreciated. thanks in advance...

nic

The Minister of No Crap

First --

Director 8 can use Flash 4 cast members, but not Flash 5 cast members. When you export your f5 .swfs, be sure to export them in 4 format. Also keep in mind all the things that don't translate from the 5-to-4 conversion.

Note: Director 8.5 is a different story: http://www.macromedia.com/macromedia...x_dir_sw.fhtml

Anyway. The interactions I use most often with Flash and Director are as follows:

IN DIRECTOR (lingo):

Setting/changing a variable in your flash cast member:
    Code:
    setVariable(sprite 50,"clue","Injera")
    sprite 50 is the sprite your flash member is on
    "clue" is the name of the variable in the flash movie
    "Injera" is the value of the variable (which you're setting now)
    NOTE: I've found that most of the time, you need to declare the variables at the beginning of your flash movie, even if you're just setting them to empty (""). Otherwise, you'll likely get an error in Director when you try to set it the first time.

Setting/changing a variable in your flash cast using lingo variables:
    (This is just a twist on the above)
    Code:
    setVariable(sprite 50,"n",string(gMapQN))
    gMapQN is a global variable that you set in Director.

Sending your flash member to another frame:
    Code:
    sprite(50).goToFrame("gameOver")
    Notes: