A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Why do designers use macs?

Smile

As a design student, I use a PC at home and a G4 at uni. One of the things that I wonder is why people think macs are so great. In my experience, macs crash frequently, run out of memory when trying to open more than one application at a time, and have to be restarted every so often because the RAM becomes fragmented.

My humble PC at home with win2k never crashes or needs to be restarted, I can have open photoshop, director, flash, 3d studio, illustrator, dreamweaver, cubase all at the same time. In fact i gave up after opening 20 applications and only half of the memory was in use (i have 384 megs). Plus it has more than one mouse button. It's also faster than the equivalent G4 and half the price. All the software that is available on a mac is also available on a PC plus a helluva lot more.

Bearing this in mind, can anyone enlighten me as to why designers seem to prefer macs? Is it an egotistical 'my computer's better than yours cos it has transparent coloured plastic' thing, or is it because mac are easier for computer-illiterates that can't cope with drive letters? I don't want to hear anything about macs being faster or more reliable because that is simply not the case.

I read a lot about mac processors being faster because of RISC based architecture, but why bother when for the price of a dual 500 mac you can buy a PC with twin 1.3gig AMDs and x86 the mac to dust.

resolved

Hi there,
    just read another of your posts where you were praising PCs... well, I do have to defend my MAC!!! But each to their own!