A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Professional Web Designers

I am curious to know how the professional Web designers that work in Web Design firms produce their Web projects for clients. Do they use freehand HTML, such as writing code in Notepad, or use HTML editors like FrontPage and Dreamweaver? If the pro's use HTML editors, which one do they use?

Well I'm not a professional, yet. heh However I do most of my HTML by hand. I dont use notepad, I use something called 1st Page 2000 (www.evrsoft.com) and by the looks of it, they have a new version. Its a text editor that you can have multiple pages open and has a lot of other features. I sometimes use Dreamweaver, and need to use some type of WYSIWYG editor more often. Anyway I think the top editors out are probably going to be both Frontpage and Dreamweaver. I personally like Dreamweaver over Frontpage. I dont think many use freehand type editing. But it certainly is good to know how to code HTML, in case you have to go back and edit some of the code that the WYSIWYG editors generate.

http://board.flashkit.com/board/show...hreadid=140019

take a look at this thread, it will give you an idea!

I believe that every designer finds tools that they are comfortable with. That is why "editor wars" are so stupid. I used to use FP2k a lot until I was introduced to Dreamweaver and UltraDev. An editor has the advantage of speed of design, but when it comes to inserting alot of script code.. they really fall down on the job, because they try to think for you. That is why it important to know html at least some what, because that way you are able to fix the problems that editor sometimes cause. Let's face it there are some areas where you just can't use any editor. This is why I believe that a proffesional designer, is going to probably see the strengths in a lot of tools.

That is just my 3 cents worth :-)