A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Paragraph return inside frame action

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    41
    This is the frame action I have in my Flash movie. All I am trying to do is put a line break (paragraph return) in between two words inside of a dynamic text box with a name of textpara1. Any help would be greatly appreciated......thanks!

    _root.textpara1="Lines & newline & Menus"

    This is my value in the frame action, and it's set to literal.


    [Edited by gataviano on 05-22-2001 at 03:23 PM]

  2. #2
    FK Slacker
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    vancouver
    Posts
    3,208
    Try:

    _root.textpara1="Lines" + newline + "Menus";

    HTH,

    K.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    41
    _root.textpara1 = PeopleCode Objects are stored on the Database Server, contained in an Oracle database, and consist of: + newline + ·Menus + newline + ·Panels + newline + ·Records and fields + newline + ·PeopleCode

    The variable _root.textpara1 is set to this value as a literal. Still not working with this code.......


  4. #4
    Senior Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    3,881
    basically in your string which is stored in the server you need to set a delimiter that will later be replaced with the newline character, ie.

    Menus/·Panels/·Records and fields/·PeopleCode
    Now when you want to set the value of the dynamic textfile use this:

    Code:
    splitstring=_root.textpara1.split("/")
    _root.textpara1="";
    for(z=0;z<splitstring.length;++z){
        _root.textpara1+=splitstring[z]+newline;
    }
    u need more let me know


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    41

    ?????

    Would there be anyway you could put that in English? LOL.....sorry, just couldn't understand it. I have a frame action and a dynamic text box....if you could give me the lingo for those two that would be great. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    41

    Anyone?

    Does anyone know how to figure this out?

  7. #7
    FK Slacker
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    vancouver
    Posts
    3,208
    If you're just trying to set the variable to a string value, from a frame action, the problem is with your quotation marks (or lack of them)...try this:

    _root.textpara1 = "PeopleCode Objects are stored on the Database Server, contained in an Oracle database, and consist of: "+ newline + "·Menus" + newline + "·Panels" + newline + "·Records and fields" + newline + "·PeopleCode";

    K.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1

    da easy way

    well the easiest way Ive found to get a carraige return in Flash 5 dynamic text is to check the HTML code box on the text options, and thow in a couple <br>'s into the code, really handy for dynamic lists, example of how to use would be

    mytext="hello <br> this is a new line";

    thats it =)

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    41

    Thanks........

    Never thought of the HTML idea.......worked very easily. The newline didn't work for some reason. Not sure if anyone has an example of that I could look at? Thanks a lot!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center