A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: New to Flash (me that is)

Hi, I am new to flash and I am having probs just starting out. I have done the onboard tutorials (Flash 4) and understand the basic principles. But when I start out with a blank stage and try to do a simple animation, ie just move a symbol across the page with tweening I only get the first and last stage of the tween. Looking at the lessons all the examples allready have a bit of the timeline "boxed" in or allready linked together. I know that there is some thing very basic that I am just not getting the point of and hope that some one will have pity on a poor guy who just wants to learn

..........exasperated....in...the.....UK.......Ple ase..help

Cant someone please just post an answer even if they cant help??

LoungeLizard
    Have you chosen tweening under frame properties?
    If not do it on the 1st keyframe.
    Elemental stuff.

Hi Cheech

Don't worry - someone will always help but most americans will be asleep now and there's just us europeans still awake

Try this:

First, always tween symbols. If you try to tween something else flash will indeed show the difernt positions on the key frames but nothing in between.

It will also create a symbol for you out of perhaps the first image and call it "tween1"or the like and place it in the library. Best is always to create the symbols first and name it something useful

then:

Once you have a symbol in two key frames double click the timeline between them to see the frame properties manager. select the tweening tab and set the tweening drop down to motion - close. the timeline will turn purple and show a line between.

A quick way is to right click the time line and select "create motion tween" to the same effect.

Note you should keep your tweens on different layers and if I can remeber you cant tween two symbols at once. The way to do that is to create a new symbol with the multiple symbols inside it.