A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: loadMovie > getBytesLoaded problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    5

    Smile

    first of all i wanna say hello 2 all board members >>>
    great board!!!
    this is my first post! ...hope somebody is able to help me...;
    kk... here's my problem:
    i m using a basic movie that holds kind of menu which is loading different external swf movies... so far this is no problem...
    the external movies used a little preloader scipt working with getBytesLoaded:
    Code:
    loaded = this.getBytesLoaded();
    total = this.getBytesTotal();
    if (loaded<total) {
    	gotoAndPlay ("01");
    } else {
    	gotoAndPlay ("03");
    }
    when it goeas back to "01" it meets the following script:
    Code:
    loaded = this.getBytesLoaded();
    total = this.getBytesTotal();
    
    percent = int((loaded / total)*100);
    percent is shown increasing in a textfield,
    in an extra symbol downleveled i use the variable "percent" to scale some kind of loadbar:
    Code:
    setProperty (this, _yscale, (_parent.loaded/_parent.total)*100);
    prozent = "this._yscale";
    this preloading works fine as standalone, but when i load it inside a target from the basic movie, "percent" is 100 right from the start and no preloading is to be seen.
    this seems to be logical, because the swf is already loaded completely when one can see it on the maintimeline...
    when i debug it from the mainmovie... i see the variable "percent" is already 100 from the beginning...
    so my question is: how can i get a preloader to run in external movies, with showing percent and scaling a loadbar?
    is there a solution with getBytesLoaded? ...or should i use a _framesloaded script?
    thx in advance for any help or hints!
    greetz n beatz
    king8eat


  2. #2
    curmudgeon swampy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    [wakey]
    Posts
    2,775
    have you tried debugging at slower modem simulation :
    i.e. test movie
    debug >> 14.4

    and

    view >> show streaming options

  3. #3
    curmudgeon swampy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    [wakey]
    Posts
    2,775
    How rude of me - welcome to flashkit

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    5

    Smile yep>>>

    ...checked that all>>>>
    doesn't seem 2 change anything...
    greetz
    king8eat
    nice one ...your signature

  5. #5
    curmudgeon swampy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    [wakey]
    Posts
    2,775
    I had a look at your code but I think I m ust be getting lazy and decided it would be quicker to make you what you want:
    http://www.92degrees.co.uk/downloads/loader.fla
    sorry for my laziness !

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    5

    prelaod in external movie

    hi swampy...
    thx for your quick answer... but that doesnt help me at the core of the problem... if i didn't articulate that right i m sorry...
    but the problem is that this kind of preloading [i checked your fla, thx for that!] doesnt seem to work if the movie is loaded into a target of a mainmovie with loadMovie...
    it seems to be some kind of variable scope problem, i noticed the if condition is ignored totally... and getBytesLoaded is 100% from the beginning...
    still have no idea how to work this out...
    greetz
    king8eat

  7. #7
    curmudgeon swampy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    [wakey]
    Posts
    2,775
    I guess I should read the entire thread instead of jumping the gun . sorry !

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    5

    ;)

    no problem swampy...
    i appreciate your help anyway...
    just tried to load your loader into a main target...
    same problem as with mine...
    and came accross the idea that i should test the whole thing under real server conditions... cause maybe its just a problem of the debugging/test environment of flash...
    its wellknown that it can't show streaming of external movies...
    could that be the reason?
    so hang on... i report later what the result of testing is...
    greetz
    king8eat

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    5

    no success...

    ...also under server conditions, it doesnt work.
    no prelaading is shown!
    ...confused...
    greetz
    king8eat


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center