A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: (more) Bullet holes on mouse down!!

hey guys ... coincidently I've als been trying to get bullet holes on mouse down on a preloader I've been working on. Firstly let me say great work with the scripting. It works a treat :-) I have one small problem however. The bullet holes work fine while the preloader is running but the problem is they are still there when my movie jumps to the next scene. They just sit on top of the next scene! Any ideas?

Well, if you have used my way of attaching the bullet holes by using the "attachMovie" comand, and you included the "n" variable, it would be really easy to remove the MCs. Because the "n" variable gave each new instance of the bullet hole graphic an individual name, you can creat a loop to romove them, it would look something like this...

loop ( _root.n > 0){
    removeMovieClip (_root["bull" add _root.n], 1+ _root.n);
    _root.n --
    }

I am not very good with loops so you may have to fiddle around with this to get it to work right, but that is the what you should be going for. The loop takes the varibale "n" representing the number attached to the MC "bull" and removes it from the stage, then subracts from the variable "n" again. So if "n" eq 25, that means you have 25 instances of the bullet graphic on the stage named, "bull1" bull2" "bull3" ect ect ect. It just simply counts down from there... I hope that makes sence.

Thanks Jesse ... but I'm not having any luck. I've put in the code and it stops the mouse trailer on me and I get the following output message:

Wrong number of parameters; removeMovieClip requires exactly 1.
    removeMovieClip (_root["bull" add _root.n], 1+_root.n);