A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long should I expect to learn 3D Studio Max....

Plutarian(From Pluto, stupid!) kitchee's Avatar
    Yeah...finally got this program 3DS 4!!! I can't wait to jump in and start making some of my more exotic ideas and short movies.

Well I'm in the process of going through the tutes that come with it and though I'm learning slowly and things are starting to make sense I know I am far from using the program to its limits.

How long should I expect this learning process to last? I'm not taking a class just learning on my own. Should I take a class???

I know Flash took me a solid 3 months to get the meat of the program down and I'm still learning to this day...

Any opinions on this?

kitchee

I am also an expert at flash, but just got into 3D stuff. Just by the layout of the program I think its gonna take about 3 times longer to learn Max than it was to learn flash. It has infinately more modifying aspects, and many more functions. Also it is working in 3D wich makes it much harder by default. good luck,

the tutorials that come with the program should take you anywhere from a day to a week. then, you have to at least play with the program, get used to it.

could take you as short as a week, or as long as a year. depends on the type of user you are.

besides, think about it like this... how fast did it take you to learn Flash? what about master it? IMHO, MAX is a bit more complex than Flash (both take time getting used to their different workflows) but both take about the same time to create the masterpieces in your heads.

it took me a month to get comfortable, and about a year to really start cranking out the models I would like. I am now so rusty with it... took about 3 years away from 3D...

btw, this is just my opinion. regard as such... you might be one of the few people I know that actually pick it up, and design something awesome in like a week. show us your objects when you get to that point