A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problem with Js to swf (Mac/Win)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    10
    Hola, I have to transmit one variable through a query (index_2.htm?9) in the brother's navigation direction bar.
    from that page, an openWindow() creates a popup holding a waiting-for-myvar swf:

    index_2.htm?9 >>> openWindow() >>> sended.htm

    In sended.htm/body, a script with a function: feed(),
    recovering the var (the "9") from index_2.htm?9

    -------------------------------------
    function feed (aa, bb) {
    bb = (bb == "") ? "?" : (bb);
    cc = (aa.indexOf(bb))+1;
    return aa.slice(cc, aa.length);
    }
    id_user = var id_user=feed(window.opener.location.toString(),"") ;
    -------------------------------------

    The function seems to work fine for MacOs

    The swf embed is rewrited within the body with several " document.write",
    just to recover and send id_user to the swf

    The html (source code):
    http://216.12.213.8/~phil/cards/index_2.htm?9

    extract from the embed:
    -------------------------------------
    >>>> src=\"http://www............... sendedCard_1.swf?id_user='+id_user+'\"
    -------------------------------------

    It's the only way I'have find to manage this
    and it is working for MacOs (Netscape & IE),
    but not for PC

    The html (source code):
    http://216.12.213.8/~phil/cards/index_2.htm?9

    Please, do you know if the problem is from the Js function or the embed code, I'm even not shure of that if I have to rewrite the swf object & embed in the js... I'm new to javascript syntax inside html, I have a big problem here, no time to learn!

    I really need to resolve this please... help

    Phil

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,044
    Hi Phil,

    this works fine for me (N4.7, Linux)
    I do usually write such stuff as one big document.write however, rather than several ones.
    document.write('<object ....>'+
    '<param....>'+
    ....
    '</object>');

    Musicman

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    10
    Hey Musicman, thanks for care, I imagine you've been looking at the the popup's source code, but in case of you don't:

    http://216.12.213.8/~phil/cards/sended.htm

    could you tell me if the document.write with the "embed" and "object" stuff is Ok.
    It should work with Mac/windows for Netscape and IE

    To see the effect:

    http://216.12.213.8/~phil/cards/index_2.htm?9

    Here, I have to receive the var id_user, and Flash send it to a server, sending back a lot of datas to the swf.
    In the window, you should see the graphics components, 3 colored texts, an image, and music.
    Over that stuff should appear — if it works— a test text and the first line is testid_user "string" and id_user value(9)

    Thanks, Phil


  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,044
    Hi,

    have you tried merging the document.write() calls as I suggested before?

    Musicman

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    10
    Hi musicman, yes I've done it as you said in one doc.write, and it still don't work for windows...

    And I've changed the original swf to a test swf with only:

    ref = id_user

    ref is a texfield, and it works for Mac and for windows, I should see here the query's "9" in it, but the window stays as if it was before frame 1...

    If you could have a look at the sended.htm code source:
    http://216.12.213.8/~phil/cards/sended.htm

    because I'm bad with javascript, there may will be some sintax mistakes? I must upload it for thirsday and unless I've intensely looking in FK, WH and figleaf archives, I hav'nt find the solution, and no time to learn now, a lot of other stuff is waiting for me...

    Anyway, thanks, you're the onlyone at this moment trying to help me...

    Phil



  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    335
    instead of

    document.write('<div align=left><object classid=\"clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000\" codebase=\"http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,4,0,2,0\" width=701 height=401 id=sendedCard_1 border=O vspace=0 hspace=0><embed src=\"http://www.pacha.com/~phil/cards/sendedCard_1.swf?id_user='+id_user+'\" width="701" height="401" name=\"sendedCard_1.swf?id_user='+id_user+'\" swliveconnect=true quality="best" border="O" bgcolor="#000000" vspace="0" hspace="0" loop="false" scale="noborder" scroll="no" type=\"application/x-shockwave-flash\" pluginspage=\"http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash\"></embed></object></div>')

    try this


    document.write('<div align=left><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,4,0,2,0" width=701 height=401 id=sendedCard_1 border=O vspace=0 hspace=0><embed src="http://www.pacha.com/~phil/cards/sendedCard_1.swf?id_user='+id_user+'" width="701" height="401" name="sendedCard_1.swf?id_user='+id_user+'" swliveconnect=true quality="best" border="O" bgcolor="#000000" vspace="0" hspace="0" loop="false" scale="noborder" scroll="no" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></embed></object></div>')


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    10
    hey al77_t, I've tried it, still working with Mac but not for windows...

    Did someone tried it with success for Windows (a "9", should appears...):

    http://216.12.213.8/~phil/cards/index_2.htm?9

    Thanks for care, Phil

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    10
    Hola, I've been verifying once again if the function feed() is ok for windows, added a document.write(id_user), before the object & embed and it comes in the html above the swf, so it could only be a sintax problem, because, as the movie background should be black and here it is white, it means that the frame one is not reached, the embed is not working for windows...

    phil

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,044
    Hi,

    could you try stripping all of the object stuff for the moment, leaving just
    document.write('<embed src....></embed>')
    there. IE should be able to display this as well, but it will not know how to install a flash plugin

    Musicman

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    10

    Smile ?*};¬]

    Sorry, I'm just going back now from a client, you're a genius, it works now... for Mac with IE & Netscape and for PC, if someone could test it with Netscape, but it's ok with IE

    Thanks for your help, Phil

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center