A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Creating a counter

Creating a counter

Hi,

I'm a Flash newbie and in some need of some help.

Here's what I'm trying to do:

Create a counter that starts with the number 298,000,303.
    The counter needs to move at 90 numbers per minute. So basically, when the first minute is up, it should read 298,000,393. I would like to make the counter depend on the host computers internal clock for accuracy. What I'm trying to do is get to the number 298,011,103 by 11am if I start the counter at 9am.

Any assistance on this would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks,
    Fernando

Re: Creating a counter

Originally posted by Decoy007
    Hi,

The counter needs to move at 90 numbers per minute. So basically, when the first minute is up, it should read 298,000,393. I would like to make the counter depend on the host computers internal clock for accuracy. What I'm trying to do is get to the number 298,011,103 by 11am if I start the counter at 9am.

Thanks,
    Fernando
    ok you could use the GetSeconds() if your keen to use the internal clock but why not just use the frame rate you set for the movie ? you need 11/2 counts per second if you set the frame rate to 15fps (wont be a problem if the scene isnt to compliacted) and decrement the counter ever 10 frames !
    of course if you dont need to count by ones you could just decrment by 90 every 60frames at 1fps

there are heaps of options just work one out that suits your needs

regards

Re: Re: Creating a counter

Originally posted by robogumby
    Originally posted by Decoy007
    Hi,

Thanks,
    Fernando
    ok you could use the GetSeconds() if your keen to use the internal clock but why not just use the frame rate you set for the movie ? you need 11/2 counts per second if you set the frame rate to 15fps (wont be a problem if the scene isnt to compliacted) and decrement the counter ever 10 frames !