A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 46

Thread: Those Darned Forms!!!!

  1. #21
    Sporadic Member therhomworkshop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    floating
    Posts
    276
    okay okay... how are you testing your movie???

    via flash test movie or do you open the completed file from the folder its authored in???

    try opening and running the file from outside flash, or from the web page itself..

    also make sure your text boxes DONT have the HTML check boxed tick as this will f*** things up...

    can you not change the email back to what it was???

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382

    e-mail me to joseph.sirokai@rbc.com

    The html boxes are not checked in. I can change the email back the way it was but I have to change the cgi installation then.
    Let me give that a try.

    J

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382

    I GOT IT FIXED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    No I get the cgi pop up again.
    This is what the problem was.

    Code:
    on (release) {
    	recipient = "info@sirokai.com";
    	loadVariablesNum ("http://www.sirokai.com/cgi-bin/formmail", this, "POST");
    }
    I had to put THIS in there instead of 0.
    let me see if I can get an email this way...

    J

  4. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi zorrosrk,

    what is the url of your movie, then?

    Musicman

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    let me upload it...
    Sirokai.com
    Click on email.

    It's not finished yet as you will see.
    J

  6. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi,

    did you receive this message too:
    "snip"
    The form attempting to use FormMail resides at http://www.sirokai.com/workingindex.html, which is not allowed to access this cgi script.

    If you are attempting to configure FormMail to run with this form, you need to add the following to @referers, explained in detail in the README file.

    Add 'www.sirokai.com' to your @referers array.
    "snap"
    If you received a different message, you were probably trying out the script with IE, which does not send a referrer at all. Make sure that your script works with no referrer

    Note that this is an anti-spam precaution that is helping very little against real spammers but annoying flash users (Matt Wright is no flasher then)
    You can add your own spam precaution (if it your script and not one by the hosting company) by setting the recipient in the script rather than in the form

    Musicman

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    Thx for the detailed info Music,
    I had this in the @Referers name:sirokai.com nothing else.
    So I reinstalled the frommail with the following

    @Referers name:'www.sirokai.com'
    Recipients email address:'info@sirokai.com'

    this is how my results page looks like

    Also again the code on my SUBMIT button is the following
    Code:
    on (release) {
        recipient = "info@sirokai.com";
        loadVariablesNum ("http://www.sirokai.com/cgi-bin/formmail", this, "POST");
    }
    please take a look at it again and tell me if this is correct...

    Thanks a bunch
    J

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    it still gives me a no recipient prompt....any ideas???
    BUT when I test it inda player this is what I get
    http://www.sirokai.com/cgi-bin/formmail
    I'm out for today... but please email me to joseph@sirokai.com and lets work this out tomorrow.
    I owe you big time for your help Music
    J

    [Edited by zorrosrk on 03-06-2002 at 06:19 PM]

  9. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi,

    I am still getting bad referrer - it is the same with sirokai.com and http://www.sirokai.com

    Musicman

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    How about now???
    Click it
    It answered for me. Came up with a cgi page.
    BUT I'm not reciving an email.
    J
    [Edited by zorrosrk on 03-07-2002 at 08:27 AM]

  11. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi,

    it is still crying "wrong referer" - did it ever happen to you that you changed a file and uploaded to a different folder (it happened not only once for me

    Musicman

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    Originally posted by Musicman
    Hi,

    it is still crying "wrong referer" - did it ever happen to you that you changed a file and uploaded to a different folder (it happened not only once for me

    Musicman
    Try this... http://www.sirokai.com/workingindex.html
    it gives me this when I click the submit button.
    http://www.sirokai.com/cgi-bin/formmail


    J


  13. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041

    no way to use this script with flash

    Hi,

    this specific incarnation of formmail has an added security check: it uses the referer to read the referring html page, and then checks that mail is only sent to addresses mentioned in the html. While this is great for a html form, it is killing a flash form - the referring url would be your index.html which is unlikely to contain your email address.
    If you can change the formmail script on your site, comment the line
    # &check_recipients
    To prevent somebody spamming through your site, add
    $Config{recipients} = "your\@email.address";
    after the &parse_form - this way mail can only be sent to yourself

    Musicman

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    MUSIC is da MAN

    I really appreciate all your help on this Music.
    People I just want to let you know that Musicman is one of the best MODs I've ever met in FK.

    I got this question for you Music. When you say add this ($Config{recipients} = "info@domain.com";)after you &parse_form.
    Is this how it should look like???

    &parse_form $Config{recipients} = "info@domain.com;

    OR
    this is the way to go

    &parse_form ;
    $Config{recipients} = "info@domain.com";


    Also as you already know I'm totally stupid to CGI and Perl
    How do you comment out a part???
    with this?
    // or???


    your help as always Music is realyl appreciated.

    J

  15. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi,

    &parse_form ; ## form has been checked
    $Config{recipients} = "info@domain.com"; ## replace recipient with yourself - antispam

    # &check_recipients; # dont do stuff following # sign

    Musicman


  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    Originally posted by Musicman
    Hi,
    $Config{recipients} = "info@domain.com"; ## replace recipient with yourself - antispam
    When you say
    replace recipient with yourself - antispam
    Which one do you mean???

    $Config this part->{recipients} = or this part"info@domain.com";

  17. #37
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi,

    replace recipient with yourself
    When formmail runs, it may get a recipient from your form - or from somebody else's. The parse_form function is retrieving the form data.
    If the next statement sets $Config{recipient} to your email, anyone trying to use the formmail on your site for spamming would just send the mail to you. So if someone scans the web for instances of formmail, formmail.pl or formmail.cgi, they might just find out that the formmail sends a thankyou page but does not deliver a test mail...
    Of course there is a slightly better way where the thankyou page even claims that the mail was sent to the intended test account.
    My comments on the code just explain what it does; you do not have to change anything there (other than using your true email)

    Musicman

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    All right now I'm really mixed up
    You told me to
    To prevent somebody spamming through your site, add
    $Config{recipients} = "your\@email.address";
    after the &parse_form


    So I added it and the script looks like this.
    &parse_form
    $Config{recipients} = "info@sirokai.com';


    Now, I dont get this part...
    My comments on the code just explain what it does; you do not have to change anything there (other than using your true email)

    ps. do not laugh

    BTW do you knwo this means???
    The original message was received at Fri, 8 Mar 2002 14:46:50 -0500 (EST)
    from info.sirokai.com@localhost

    ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
    sirokai.com@megawebservers.com
    (reason: 550 5.1.1 <sirokai.com@megawebservers.com>... User unknown)
    (expanded from: sirokai.com@megawebservers.com)

    ----- Transcript of session follows -----
    ... while talking to localhost:
    >>> DATA
    <<< 550 5.1.1 <sirokai.com@megawebservers.com>... User unknown
    550 5.1.1 sirokai.com@megawebservers.com... User unknown
    <<< 503 5.0.0 Need RCPT (recipient)


    J


    [Edited by zorrosrk on 03-08-2002 at 03:45 PM]

  19. #39
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    sorry for the confusion...

    the &parse_form; really wants a semicolon at the end
    but it is no good idea to change $Config{recipient} in the actual code line to $Config{'you@yourmail.com'} or anything like that; the two lines should just appear in the script unchanged, with only the email replaced by the true one.
    BTW: this is a general recommendation for any mailscript: if there is no need to send to multiple addresses, set the address in the script rather than in the form

    Musicman

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    382
    OHhhhhh

    Now I see what you mean Music.
    If I wanted to change the sort order in the script where can I do that???
    I downloaded it and editing some stuff like the "Thank you page".
    Also how can I link the form to an error page if they miss out some part. I mean I want their email address to be filled in, inda form.

    Do I do that in Flash guess not,.... right???

    I dont know how to fill in the "required" textfield.
    I'm afraid if I install it through my host again, I will lose everything in the script, and have to start the whole process again.

    J

    [Edited by zorrosrk on 03-08-2002 at 04:34 PM]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center