A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: fscommand (exec) on xp

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    13
    just tested my cd on a computer with xp on it and low and behold none of my exec commands worked.

    help me please!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    218
    What exec commands are you using exactly?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    13

    EXEC

    I'm using exec to allow users playing my standalone flash move to view pdf files or play mpg movies. Here is an example of the code:

    on (release) {
    fscommand ("exec", "start"+chr(9)+"copy/script.pdf");
    }

    This command works on all windows platforms except
    Windows XP.

    I guess i'm looking to find out why

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    37

    Re: EXEC

    So you've been able to open PDF files directly from Flash in the past, with non-XP operating systems? That's interesting, because I've understood that isn't possible, and I've been using a program from flashgeek.com to go around that issue.


    Ben

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    666
    Actually the commands your using should work.. and a normal FsCommand, Exec will work on a Projector

    You might want to try to Cntrl + Alt + Tab method or /t or you could just use 3rd party tools..

    Here's a tutorial on coding in flash you can reference
    http://flashtools.net/tutorials/coding_in_flash.htm

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    13

    ftools saved my life

    Thanks for the post MASTER

    I found that on XP, you can only run exe's from the root of where the projector file sits (i actually haven't tested running an exe from a sub directory yet). And it seems like it only runs exe's located at the root level or in C:\windows which scared the hell outa me. So, using ftools whihc are exe's i was able to get it working.

    I replaced the code from my earlier example:
    on (release) {
    fscommand ("exec", "start"+chr(9)+"copy/script.pdf");
    }

    with this:

    on (release) {
    fscommand ("exec", "ftoolapp.exe" add Chr(9) add "copy/script.pdf");
    }

    You can download ftools from flashtools.net

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    117

    Re: ftools saved my life

    I am trying to do kind of the same thing. I am doing an interface for a cd that executes PowerPoint presentations within their application. So far I cannot get the execute function to work on anything.

    Here is an example that should execute another projector. But it doesn't.

    on (release) {
    fscommand ("exec", "square.exe");
    }
    And in that same folder I have the square.exe file. This is really frustrating, any help?


    Can you help me out with this? I thought that you would have to create a bat file. But I need to get the execute function working first.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    218
    I would venture to say that you can open a exe or any other file from anywhere on win Xp, its just pathing problems. Try this,
    Fs Command ("exec", "/program.exe"

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    117
    Actually I am on windows 2000, but I still cannot get the fscommand to execute anything. There has to be something wrong?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    218
    Try a few of these expressions in a fs command:

    Fs Command ("Exec", “notepad” add chr(9) add “file.extension”)

    Fs Command ("Exec", “"cmd.com" add chr(9) add "/c" add chr(9) add "md" add chr(9) add "textfile")

    Fs Command ("Exec", “start” add chr(9) add “filename.extension”)

    Just for fun try this one.
    Fs Command ("Exec", “rundll32.exe\tuser.dll,swapmousebutton”)

    Those should work to some extent, if they don't I'll poke around and see what i can do.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    117
    I found the problem. When I tried the same procedures on another machine, it worked fine. So I uninstalled and reinstalled Flash and that took care of the problem. Weird!
    Thanks for all your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center