A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Transparency?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    100

    Post

    Hi,
    I'm a newbie to KoolMoves. Great program! I was wondering if there is a way to set transparency on a BMP?
    Thanks,
    M

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,495
    Try this trick. Create a shape over the shape with the bitmap. Fill the top shape with the background color with some transparency.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    100

    Post

    Originally posted by Bob Hartzell
    Try this trick. Create a shape over the shape with the bitmap. Fill the top shape with the background color with some transparency.
    Thanks, Bob, for answering my post so quickly. I tried that trick and while it did work, it didn't work for what I wanted. This is what I'm trying to achieve; For my animations, I've got a bitmap background. I've got an image that I want to animate, but it's in bitmap form and has a blue background only. I went into Photoshop and erased the background, but when I import it into KOOL MOVES, the background is still present. I would like to turn that background transparent. Is there a way to do that in KOOL MOVES? If not, do you know of a good vector graphic editing software that's cheap? Thanks a million!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    100

    Post

    Bob,
    Forget that last question about the vector graphic software. That doesn't have anything to do with anything. I think I'm too sleepy to still be working.
    Mike

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    5,087
    You were correct.

    Vectorizing the image is what you want to do. Star Office is cheap and will do that for you. Illustrator will work also, if you want to play with it.

    See this thread:

    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...threadid=13798

    JPEG and BMP do not support transparancy so filling the shape with an image will do you no good.

    A note: Use the clear image button and select a color fill when you are changing bitmap fills that you have updated or delete the shape alltogether. A quirk in the program is that it will not update the image fill with the new image if it is named the same by just hitting the button. It sound like that is what happened to you.
    [Edited by johnie on 09-21-2000 at 06:47 PM]

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    100

    Smile

    Originally posted by johnie
    You were correct.

    Vectorizing the image is what you want to do. Star Office is cheap and will do that for you. Illustrator will work also, if you want to play with it.

    See this thread:

    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...threadid=13798

    JPEG and BMP do not support transparancy so filling the shape with an image will do you no good.

    A note: Use the clear image button and select a color fill when you are changing bitmap fills that you have updated or delete the shape alltogether. A quirk in the program is that it will not update the image fill with the new image if it is named the same by just hitting the button. It sound like that is what happened to you.
    [Edited by johnie on 09-21-2000 at 06:47 PM]

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    100

    Thanks Johnie

    Thanks Johnie,
    That's exactly what I needed! My company has Illustrator. I'll use that!
    man, things get solved in a hurry at this forum!
    M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center