A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Bitmaps In Shapes

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    104

    Post

    When you make a shape and go to fill it with a bitmap, how do you move where the bitmap ends up in the shape ?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    5,087
    In Kool Moves it can't be done.

    It can be done in MS Paint though.

    If you know the aproximate shape and size of your KM shape then you can edit your bitmap so that it will fit apropriatly. This will help.

    1. I recomend opening two instances of MS paint and set your windows to tile. Set both instances of MS paint Side by Side and roughly the same size as each other.

    2. Open up the FUN file with the shape that you want to fill hit [alt] PrintScrn.

    3. Minimize Kool Moves

    4. In one of the instances of MS Paint hit edit paste.

    5. In the othe instance open up your Bit map

    6. Size your bit map using the upper left hand corner as the begining of your shape and use the screenshot as a guide.

    7. Save the Bit map.

    8. Go back to Kool Moves

    9. Fill your shape.

    10. You will have to mask it somewhat by adding shapes the color of the background around the bitmap.

    11. Group the shapes- Ha fooled you- its not an option yet. When you refer to the shapes you will have to select all of them or it wont work. Once group is an option this will solve the problem.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    104
    This would be a NICE feature (hint,hint)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    5,087
    I agree, but I've been told it would involve morphing the bitmap which is not supported in Flash.


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    5,087
    Other SWF editors have the same problem- The ones that support this feature [fill shape with bitmap] at least.
    [Edited by johnie on 09-22-2000 at 01:05 AM]

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    104

    Post

    Originally posted by johnie
    it would involve morphing the bitmap which is not supported in Flash.

    Well then we will just have to call up those guys over at Macromedia and tell them to change that, and like pronto

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,494
    The next version of KoolMoves allows you to import a bitmap and it automatically puts it in a rectangle of the proper size. There is morphing. On export, all the tweens involving shapes filled with bitmaps become keyframes. That is handled behind the scenes and you need not be concerned about it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    766
    Another tip for anyone who wants to make sure they get the sizing right, you can set the grid sizing in KoolMoves, that way you will know approx. the pixel size of the bitmap you want to create, just my two cents!

    Brad
    Cool yah!! Bitmaps, looking forward to it Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center