A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [

  1. #1
    caithness massiv
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    1,672

    Cool

    ok... here's an interactive approach to the microphone object


    [swf width="550" height="400"]http://www.coloradospringslaw.net/vivid/stuff/mictest1.swf[/swf].

    the _un_documented code goes something like this:

    Code:
    //-------------------------->
    //---Microphone Properties
    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("micAudio", 1); 
    _root.micAudio.attachAudio(Microphone.get());
    _root.myMic = Microphone.get();
    _root.myMic.setUseEchoSuppression(1);
    _root.myMic.setRate(44);
    _root.myMic.setSilenceLevel(5);
    _root.myMic.setGain(25);
    //--------------------------->
    and there's also a few variations of this:

    Code:
    sunrise_mov.onEnterFrame = function(){
    this.gotoAndStop(2*_root.myMic.activityLevel);
    }

    so overall it's an interesting way to make the the microphone data visually interactive
    [Edited by agent vivid on 03-16-2002 at 10:53 AM]

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    24
    but always"i can't hear you"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    19

    Snot working for me either

    I can't seem to get any reaction. My mic is working...

  4. #4
    caithness massiv
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    1,672
    ok... i made a slight change...

    _root.micAudio.attachAudio(Microphone.get());
    _root.myMic = Microphone.get();

    does it work now??

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    24
    faint~~~
    also"i can't hear you"

  6. #6
    caithness massiv
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    1,672
    is it returning the name of your soundcard at the bottom of the movie?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    24
    yeah
    i know it's "micphone.names"
    but "i cant hear you too

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    111
    works for me, + I ve got a multi in-out/pro-audio type so I was very suprised It picked up the mic without any fiddling about.

    I get the feeling there's more than a few undocumented features in MX, you've got to ask why?
    ... not enough time to write the manual ?

  9. #9
    caithness massiv
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    1,672
    because the flash gateway has yet to come out...

    and NEO is just around the corner

    i'm sure they'll 'update' the documentation when the time comes

    btw, angstrom --- did you get any reverb or clipping?

  10. #10
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    nice. No Mic here at the moment, so I have to test it Monday. But anyway, seams like it would work, from what I know there is really a SoundBlaster in this machine.

    Fredi

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    111
    about 50ms of lag ,slight clip when I'm right up to the mic ..but it's a large diaphrgm cap. mic so It never likes that, + I'm on headphones so no unintentional feedback/reverb ...
    don't tell me there's an undocumented dsp in there too

  12. #12
    Moderator CNO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    3,446
    Stupendous! Just what I needed!

    Was able to get it to work on my Mac g4 TiBook with built-in audio controller, and it works great!

    I was kind of disappointed to see that a lot of these things weren't mentioned sooner - can't wait for more people to tear into the program and start digging out the really interesting stuff.

  13. #13
    caithness massiv
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    1,672
    that makes me feel good, CNO!!!

    it's nice to see that the code is working cross-platform


    i don't think it's really possible to do much 'capture' so to speak... there's no Microphone.prototype.frequency or anything like that

    the file i produced only works off of the activityLevel of the microphone... but it has nothing to do with the actual sound


    btw: here's my *documentation* on the microphone (from what i could gather, at least )


    Code:
    Microphone.prototype.index()
    	0 = Modem #0 Line Record; 1 = Default Sound Card
    Microphone.prototype.silenceTimeout()			
    	?
    Microphone.prototype.activityLevel()			
    	read only (-1 to 100)
    Microphone.prototype.setSilenceLevel()			
    	0 to 100
    Microphone.prototype.setRate()				
    	5,8,11,22,44 kHz 
    Microphone.prototype.setGain()			
    	0 to 100
    Microphone.prototype.setUseEchoSuppression()		
    	0 or 1
    Microphone.get()						
    	0,1,2,3,...

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    111
    reading this and another similar thread makes me think of a drawLine = volume; time = _x;
    thing to plot a crude waveform similar to the previews in the sounds section of FK
    no frequency data but volume over time gives frequency if done quick enough

    reminiscent of a more lowly winamp vis.

  15. #15
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    Originally posted by angstrom
    reading this and another similar thread makes me think of a drawLine = volume; time = _x;
    thing to plot a crude waveform similar to the previews in the sounds section of FK
    no frequency data but volume over time gives frequency if done quick enough

    reminiscent of a more lowly winamp vis.
    Just done a nice one, I will post it tomorrow.

    Fredi

  16. #16
    caithness massiv
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    1,672
    [swf width="300" height="100"]http://www.coloradospringslaw.net/vivid/stuff/synthstripped.swf[/swf]1.96k

  17. #17
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    Here is my version : http://board.flashkit.com/board/show...hreadid=282076

    Hope it works. (Have no mic here)

    Fredi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center