A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: hello

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    20
    does anyone know if you can change the font of a dynamic txt box with AS, i know this is the wrong forum but im kinda franticaly rushed here.. : (

    thx

  2. #2
    Señor member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    1,819
    Rushed or not, it really should go into the AS forum or even general help. Allowing rushed projects/questions will only set a precedent and then it'll be harder to clamp down on in the future.

    The lounge has been relatively free of help posts in the last few months and I'm sure it's easier for people looking for answers when a thread has been answered and doesn't drop off the first page in a day as it would with the lounge.


  3. #3
    Senior Member RazoRmedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,016
    moved here. In flash 5 the simple answer is no, sorry, change them to objects

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    20
    lmfao, words from the wise huh, well cheers dad, i'll try and tell my clients to behave on the time schedules next time, pfffft...

    sorry wanna mod

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    20
    that wasnt to you love





    _
    [Edited by $h0ckW@vE on 03-19-2002 at 09:38 AM]

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    246
    I think you can change the font if you use html-formatted text. Just make a function to replace the 'Font face'-tag.
    If I remember correctly you have to embed the font you're going to change to, or else nothing will show up.

    HC

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    20
    thats great, have you got a link or anything? or do you know where i can find out more?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    246
    Well the basic idea is that something like
    myvariable=<FONT FACE='Arial'>the text I want to show</FONT>
    can be used.

    If you have the text to display and keep the fontinfo in a variable you can do something like this:
    font="Arial";
    mytext="the text I want to show";
    myvariable="<FONT FACE='"+font+"'>"+mytext+"</FONT>";

    This makes in necessary to keep an extra variable for each dynamic textbox.

    If you don't want to do that you can use 'String.indexOf' to find the font-tag in the variable and then replace with your new font-info there.

    Hope this helps
    HC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center