A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Advice requested: Actionscript concepts in creating ball game

Greetings Flash-fiends,

I would appreciate a few words of advice before I embark on a considerable personal project.

I would like to simulate a ball game using a technique similar to the wonderful Conversion Kings (http://www.sportal.co.za/).

However, whilst I'm an ok programmer, and a good animator / artist, the mathematics side of this is really going to test me (yes, I was the guy who sat at the back of maths class drawing the teachers. Kids - I wish I had paid attention instead).

What I was hoping for from you guys is some kind of direction as to the mathematical factors I may have to consider, in creating something similar to Wireframes masterpiece, from scratch.

For example, my ball will need to be told its Xpos and Xpos, and I will have to simulate a Zpos to give the illustion of size. The Zpos will be largely dependent on a Power variable (ie how hard the ball has been struck). However, the Zpos (size / scale) reduction will need to slow down over time to create the appearance of perspective. Also, my ball needs to curve in the air (both through spin AND gravity). Does this mean a parabola?

Whew. I sat down last night with a pen and a paper, and realised how much thought this needs. Any assistance (in simplified language) would be a great help.

Many, many thanks in advance,

Lewis Boadle
    http://www.boadle.com

Would it not be easier to make a simple 3d engine, and just manipulate the balls x,y and z? That way you could separate the maths from the presentation, and not worry about perspective

3d Game

Yeah Ed,

it may well be...

Which brings me onto my next question. Where can I get one of these, or, how do I go about making one of these?

Lewis

------
    In a situation where gravity is the only force, two axis exhibit constant speed (x and z) and y exhibits constant acceleration (a=g) this does give a parabola.
    ------