A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A couple of things MX SHOULD have and doesent...

Red face

I'm still new to Flash,(4 months), and I've been using other software for years like Photoshop and others. I found MX to be a unique perspective on the artists views as to how flash should be layed out. It IS more user friendly, and it DOES try to be more helpful, and still it doesent do some of the things I'd like done without having to go through a LOT more work than should be necessary. BTW, the same goes for every other version of FLASH.

oh, and I love FLASH.

Here are a few considerations Macromedia should take into account for next time:

1. a mask should be able to conform to a gradient.
    That means my masked (in-motion-gradient) should be
    able 2 be masked by a gradient (black->white)so that
    its visibility changes or fades out.
    2. The properties of a symbol should include an alt tag field. I don't want 2 have to create a symbol or a swf for every alt i want in the movie and have to save them seperately and enter extra code everywhere so that the invisible alttag movie follows my mouse and loads the appropriate alt based on what I rollover. Thats a nasty solution and takes lots of time. (the first time)
    3. I have more I'd like to suggest also, but later, such as combining Dreamweaver and Flash into one singular program... um. lol they'd never do that though, it means losing a product to sell.

I hope whoever reads this post will reply with thier own suggestion as to what Macromedia is missing out on, what they should be including in MX and its children.

http://pages.infinit.net/crockatt (under renovation)

we usually have a flash suggestion thread that goes to macromedia in the coffee lounge, im sure these would be good contirbutions to the flash 7 'wish list' though its a little early now.

the gradient mask would be sweet!

oh and another thing..