A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Swift or Not.........

First a quick background. I have been creating stuff in frontpage for the past 2 years. I have also learned how to work with swish pretty well in the last year.

I have seen the erain.com site and am impressed and would like to purchase swift3d. My impression is that it (like swish) is an easier way to put together flash animations.

Is this the case or am I way out in left field? I have tried to learn Flash itself in the past but have found myself truly upset with the user friendlyness of the software. That is why I enjoy using swish in a lot of my material.

So compared to Flash, how easy is Swift3d to learn and operate? Is this a great way (like swish) to produce flash without Flash?

Your comments please. I want your input before I shell out $250.

Thanks for your time.

I have never used Swish and really think that Flash is the friendliest UI, so my opinion may skewed from yours. Swift has to have the quickest learning curve ever in just creating and animating basic objects. You can probobly tell from the Demos on the erain site what is capable with it, , however it is limited in that you cannot import bitmaps , and I would have liked other free drawing tools besides a bezier pen though if you have to just have one tool thats the most versatile. For overall ease Swift is great for creating eye-cacthing 3d elements for the web, creating detailed, lengthy animations entirely in Swift may take a bit more practice and experience but its still got to be easier and bandwidth freindly than other 3d programs like 3ds , etc. and much less $$$

Originally posted by THEBIRD
    My impression is that it (like swish) is an easier way to put together flash animations. Is this a great way (like swish) to produce flash without Flash?

Your comments please. I want your input before I shell out $250.