A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Whole Image Backgrounds

  1. #1

    Question

    Can someone tell me how to make a whole jpeg image a background for a site. When I publish it in a browser I only get part of the image and a black border around the rest.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    19

    Cool

    You have made a JPG background for your site. Now you want it displayed.. Heres what i would do in that case:


    First i'll check if the pic is large enough so you wont get the pic showing twice in a high resolution such as 1024*800. (Not that its the highest resolution but its a start )

    Then you go to the html part.
    You put in the body tag a little piece of code so it looks like this:

    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">code:</font><HR><pre>
    <html>
    <body leftmargin=0 topmargin=0 background=blabla.jpg>
    [/code]

    something like that.

    Now i guess the pic will cover the background w/o those borders. But if it still doesnt cover. Make the pic bigger.

    lates!


    ------------------
    Supersybren@hotmail.com - DVision
    <EMBED src="/cgi-bin/ubb/Members/sigs/00000109.swf" quality=high WIDTH=100 HEIGHT=80 TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"> </EMBED>

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    19

    Post

    well, because of a fault in this board (CHECK IT OUT CGI GUYS!! ) the code i wanted to display (HTML) wasn't shown. ill now type the same code using '(' and ')' signs instead of the HTMLs '<' and '>' signs. Now. Let's get started!


    (html)
    (body leftmargin=0 topmargin=0 background=blabla.jpg)


    Thats all!!
    Flashkit:And PLEASE fix this CODE bug!!


    ------------------
    Supersybren@hotmail.com - DVision

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    32

    Post

    its not a bug in the board. since we are typing in text that is getting converted into html, its only logical that it treats your tags as html. to get past it, use the &lt; and &gt; (may need to read source to see what im typing: & + "lt" or "gt" + ; ... the board keeps mangling my code!).

    &lt;html&gt;

    ------------------
    la'dsasha


    [This message has been edited by Sasha (edited 27 March 2000).]

    [This message has been edited by Sasha (edited 27 March 2000).]

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    1

    Post

    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>
    I think the best way to get a single image as a backround without having to worry about its size is by using a layer. If at the top of your script you use:

    (span style="position:absolute; width:100%; height:100%" id="layer1")
    (img suppress=true src="yourpic.JPG" width=100% height=100% border=0)
    (/span)

    then your pic, will be stretched out to fill the page with no borders no matter what screen resolution or window size is being used.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



    [This message has been edited by basher (edited 28 March 2000).]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center