A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [Resolved] plasma vs swift3d 2

just wondering if someone can give a comparison of plasma versus swift3d 2. just started using/learning swift3d 2 and am wondering if plasma may be better, or not.

if it helps to make the answer more relative i am NOT a graphic designer for the most part. i am web/software developer who is learning flash and some graphic design as best as i can on my own.

thanks for the help!

I'll take a crack at answering your question.

Swift3D 2.0 ($159.00 USD)... great flash output, good for creating only simple shapes, complex shapes are very possible via the lathe editor and extrude editor.

Pluses: some of the best flash output available. great for simple work if you're using the standalone; however the plugin's that can be used in Max, Softimage XSI, and lightwave greatly extend the possibilities. and it's inexpensive. can open industry standard *.dxf, *.3ds, and *.ai/*.eps files.

Negatives: standalone version is rather limited when it comes down to modelling. No matter what, if you want to render a face, you will invariably have to result to either an externally created mesh. No mesh or vortex editing tools whatsoever. precision alignment can be troublematic and oft frustrating.

and now, Plasma 1.0 ($650.00 USD)... great flash output, but I will say a notch below Swift3D - unless you play around with the setttings. Then they are pretty much equal. You can build very complex shapes easily. Same drawing tools as 3DS Max, basically. Full featured toolset.

Pluses: after you learn the tools, whatever you think of, you can model it. also, finally... the ability to make things with holes in it! can open *.dxf, *.max, *.3ds, as well as *.ai/*.eps. better shadow renders than Swift3D 2.0.