A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [

As a developer, I regularly have to answer client questions regarding Browser Compatability. My clients want to make sure, justifiably, that their content will be viewable by all web-users who will visit their site.

Perhaps some of you remember a company called Netscape who was once a major contender in the so-called "Browser Wars". This company, who was also a highlight in Microsoft's anti-trust case, at one time put up a fight to gain consumer loyalty. However, they just couldn't get one thing clear... The consumer wants it all. Netscape couldn't keep up with the features of Microsoft Internet Explorer, and refused to bend to the will of their most coveted possession... the user.

In a recent report by StatMarket, Netscape has fallen to a mere 3.4 percent penetration among web-surfers, as opposed to 13 percent only a year ago! Even the NEW NETSCAPE, packed with the Gecko engine, hasn't been able to sway the tide in the least bit.
    Soon, it appears that Netscape will have to go head-to-head with the Opera browser just to get the last 1 or 2 percent of Web-surfer penetration.

It's a sad demise, really. A solid company with a solid product. Because of some bad choices in the Netscape ranks the "Browser wars" have turned into a bloody, browser massacre.

Here are the current rankings...
    Global Browser Usage Share as of 8/26/02:
    Microsoft 95.97%
    Netscape 3.39%
    Other .64%
    So, the question comes to mind...
    Do we leave Netscape as a contender and focus on primarily IE users, or continue with the painstaking task of Browser Compatability?

Any thoughts are coveted...

Written by Jay Jones

The Minister of No Crap

Interesting stats, interesting thoughts, and interesting question.

Well, to add to this discussion, here's a stat for you: