A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MAC vs. PC.......

1 SWIFT APPLE

Arrow

hey guys whats up... i Know i should be jumping in ur board like this but i've been using PC's for about 4-5 years now with graphics and i'm doing great... BUT do u think the switch from PC - Mac would be worth it for me? because right now i'm not having any problems with my PC i was just looking to see if there was a certain reason why switching to a MAC would be better...

thanks

Well, for me it was the combination of access to all the design tools with the BSD core that hooked me the developer tools are just awsome!

1 SWIFT APPLE
    BSD core??

BSD, a type of Unix. Unix has been around for 30 years... a lot more stable than Windows can ever claim.

However, use what you're used to. there is really no better, or worse.

I use both. Apple and PC, as well as Linux. I like them all.

Originally posted by nucleuz
    Well, for me it was the combination of access to all the design tools with the BSD core that hooked me the developer tools are just awsome!
    That's exactly why I'm going out and buying a G4 TiBook 800mhz/1G RAM this coming Tuesday.
    To be clear though, it's a BSD/Mach hybrid micro-kernal at the core of OSX, hence a slight variation of standard BSD.

But yes....
    Finally, I'll be able to have Photoshop/Flash et al up and running as well as Postgres, MySQL, Apache and PHP/Perl all in one handy dandy and oh so mobile location.
    And with CDPD internet... DSL anywhere I go.

I have seen some minor caveats with OSX, but on the whole, you can't beat it if you are a designer/developer.

To the original poster:
    Itemize what you do and read up on what Mac offers in those areas. Also, read up and find what Mac doesn't offer.