A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: pre-load before leaving previous movie

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20

    pre-load before leaving previous movie

    I know how to have a movie loop through the first few frames of a movie until all the frames of the movie are loaded. I want to do something similar but different.

    I have one flash movie calling another one with loadMovie. However, it immediately changes to the first frame of the 2nd movie, then begins the loop at the start of the 2nd movie until all the frames of that movie are loaded. I want it to stay on the original movie (i.e., the one that the loadMovie command was placed in) until all the frames in the 2nd movie are loaded - I guess it would essentially loop in the 1st movie (rather than in the 2nd) while the frames of the 2nd movie are loading. Is there a way to do this?

    Thanks,
    Jason

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Are you loading on another level, in a movie clip holder, or loading the second movie on level 0 to replace the first movie?

    If you had a blank first frame as the starting frame of the second movie, and you preloaded this movie, then once it's finished preloading, you could immediately re-load it on level 0, replacing the first movie, which would be displayed until then.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    Thanks for your reply. This sounds like what I want to do, but I'm not familiar with "levels" (I'm fairly new with Flash). If you would give me some basic pointers on how to do this I would greatly appreciate it!

    Thanks,
    Jason

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Are you using components and/or Export on the first frame stuff, in anyone of the movies?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    The only special commands in the first frame are 2 fscommands (fullscreen-true and scale-false).

    Thanks,
    Jason

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    No sounds? No components in either movie?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    There are sounds in both movies, but not in the first frame of either one.

    Thanks,
    Jason

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Anyway you can attach your .flas? Or upload them to your server and e-mail me a link to download them from there.
    It'll be faster than the pingpongning these questions and answers.

  9. #9
    ask me one on fish..not flash
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    southern u.k.
    Posts
    495
    (it's cos he is an OLD newbie and his concentration level just aint what it used to be...lol)

    if you are reading this oldnewbie....sorry couldnt resist it
    I bought a Ouija board. The pointer spelled out 'You don't actually believe in this crap, do you

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    As you can see, I only have one tooth left, soon only one eye!
    What are you doing up so late, kid?

    If you want to pick this up, be my guest!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    The actual files that I want to do this on are quite large (60-120mb each), so rather than messing with transferring those would it make more sense for you to just create 2 "blank" templates that connect using this technique? (Then I can see what you did and do the same thing in the larger files.)

    I appreciate the help you are offering!

    Thanks,
    Jason

  12. #12
    ask me one on fish..not flash
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    southern u.k.
    Posts
    495
    went to see how old you are....n/a?? that's old.

    me and my 44 years of youth cant pick this up cos of my bad back...lol

    oh montreal....go flames go...(that is the right team EH!)

    gary
    I bought a Ouija board. The pointer spelled out 'You don't actually believe in this crap, do you

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Get a feeling you're not telling it all! That size and on-line?

    No Gary! The Montreal Canadiens!

    http://www.canadiens.com/english/

  14. #14
    ask me one on fish..not flash
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    southern u.k.
    Posts
    495
    i know it's not the place for this general chat...sorry guys.

    (lived in calgary for 10 yrs so i was right....go flames go..and they aint made the playoffs since i left there lol)


    gary
    I bought a Ouija board. The pointer spelled out 'You don't actually believe in this crap, do you

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    These won't be online - I am creating a CD-ROM. The particular files that I'm wanting to use this technique on so large because each includes approximately 10-15 minutes of video.

    What I am doing is creating a memorial CD of my wife's life and work (she was murdered in October) for friends, family, and colleagues.

    I've been learning Flash as I go, and now I have enough "stuff" to fill up a CD, so I'm working on getting it to run a bit more smoothly before I call it done.

    Thanks,
    Jason

  16. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Never done CD work! But I'll try to put something together you might try to use and see if it works. May be a while though, it's getting past my bed time!

    Truly sorry about your wife! All my sympathies.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    Thanks!

    As far as I can tell, putting it on a CD is no different than online, except 100mb files are a bit less troublesome.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    Just wanted to make sure you didn't forget about me...

    Thanks,
    Jason

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    Nevermind - I was just messing around with it and figured out how to do levels! Works great!!!

    Jason

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center