A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 49 of 49

Thread: am i doing the right thing? asp/flash

  1. #41
    Slinky Designs slinky2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,227
    yea ok amte, thats fine about the uploadin thing! anyway,

    the asp apge works ok, it outputs the line of th pic address here

    http://imdasp.infj.ulst.ac.uk/stefan...est_test_3.asp

    you can see it at the top

    but the the way ive done it it dfoesnt work, for example, the code on "getter" is now this:

    Code:
    onClipEvent (data) {
    	MyArray = data.split("*");
    	ButtonCount = MyArray.length;
    	for (i=0; i<ButtonCount; i++) {
    		_root.scrolledMCrecipient.scrolledMC.attachMovie("button", "button"+i, i);
    		_root.scrolledMCrecipient.scrolledMC["button"+i].index = i;
    		_root.scrolledMCrecipient.scrolledMC["button"+i].nam = MyArray[i];
    		_root.scrolledMCrecipient.scrolledMC["button"+i].inf = MyArray[i+1];
    		_root.scrolledMCrecipient.scrolledMC["button"+i]._x = 20;
    		_root.scrolledMCrecipient.scrolledMC["button"+i]._y = (i*20);
    		_root["button"+i].pic = MyArray[i+2];
    		i = i +2;
    	}
    }
    but nothin comes up in the holder, could is be because uni only has flash 5, or my code is wrong?

    the code above with the "scrolledMCrecipient.scrolledMC"

    is my scroller thing, there just movie clips, and ive changed the paths for them but the "holder" mc is still on the main stage at _root

    when i try and just do it by testing movie inside flash, i get the error:

    Code:
    Error opening URL "file:///E|/test%5F2/"
    but my code is set to the correct asp page :

    Code:
    loadVariables ("http://imdasp.infj.ulst.ac.uk/stefan/test_2/test_test_3.asp", "getter");
    Last edited by slinky2000; 03-12-2003 at 06:40 AM.

  2. #42
    Slinky Designs slinky2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,227
    so i thought is try flashmx,

    but still no luck !! ugh! i had to go to another room to install it!

    if you want to have a look heres the files for the flash mx one i did
    Last edited by slinky2000; 09-01-2009 at 11:18 AM.

  3. #43
    say no more loydall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,261
    Hmmmm,

    You're not doing anything wrong there but it doesn't seem to want to load images from those urls? I've attached an updated version of your movie that just dynamically loads a picture of kitten (don't ask why I chose a kitten) that I found on a google image search. Anyway - the bit where your loading your image does work with the new picture so we know it works when you specify a url.

    If you look at all the variables being produced (Debug - list variables) You can see that your image urls are being loaded correctly and being applied to the buttons correctly. This means that the correct image url will be sent to 'holder'

    If you actually put the url of one of your images into the loadMovie action of the button rather than 'pic' you'll see it doesn't work with your images but does with the kitten.

    Now - unless all these dj's happen to look like that kitten, it's not an ideal set-up.

    What I did notice is that, when I looked at one of your images, they were quite large in file size - could you compress them a bit to make them load quicker?

    If that doesn't work - try sticking them on another server somewhere - the problem might be pulling images from your current server?

    Not entirely sure about this one but you're not doing abything wrong so you're not far from getting it sorted...

    Last edited by loydall; 09-27-2008 at 12:12 PM.

  4. #44
    Slinky Designs slinky2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,227
    lol, ive just been told off for installing software in university when im not allowed to!

    anyway, so this means flash 5 only! ah man! and i know flash 5 doesnt allow loadmovies of .jpg 's so either this means this isnt gonna happen or find a different way of doin it!


    any ideas?

    you could convert the jpgs to swfs and load them in that way! but that means the dj's would have to email me each pic!

    not ideal!

  5. #45
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi,

    dont worry - even if you cannot test movies in flash 5, loading jpeg still works when someone views them in f6 player

    Musicman

  6. #46
    Slinky Designs slinky2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,227
    mate ur right! nice one , looky here:



    http://imdasp.infj.ulst.ac.uk/stefan..._scroller.html


    its workin lovely! seems only to be jpg's it loads and only from certin servers,

    class! ive got this workin, with the help of a few fellas!




    i know its still rough! but i want to get all this stuff done before i go on refining and desiging it!
    Last edited by slinky2000; 03-13-2003 at 02:53 PM.

  7. #47
    Slinky Designs slinky2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,227
    alrighty then! another thing!

    not sure wether to make this part of the same section where a dj posts the url of their "set or mix" and button comes on the page somewhere sayin listen or a seperate section!


    what do you think? is this possible?

    thanks
    Slinky

  8. #48
    Slinky Designs slinky2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,227
    hey mate once again i need some help.

    i got a book off a firend on asp/flash and it uses all DSN connections which i cant use, anyway, could you look at this client login thing and help me out with some DSNless connection?

    Ive tried various lines of code including yours but ti still wont work! hopefully you can sort this out!


    thanks a whole lot!

    Slinky
    Last edited by slinky2000; 09-01-2009 at 11:18 AM.

  9. #49
    Slinky Designs slinky2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,227
    alrighty then, not to worry i eventually got it!

    on asp-101.com i found this

    oConn.Open "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};DBQ=" & _
    Server.MapPath("flash-asp.mdb")


    but for some reason your dsnless connection wasnt working earlier on!

    thanks anyway!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center