A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: I need some good advice!!!

Hybrid View

I need some good advice!!!

I have been contracting for a number of companies for the past 4 years.

One of them produces a range of business training courses published on the internet, intranet and CR-ROM. I work all hours and get paid very little and sometimes nothing with the promise of a shareholding in the company and more money when the company starts to perform better,

My role is Creative Director, responsible for the visual identity of the company, outline and flow of the courses, including navigation and user interaction design.

I have never signed a contract all the time I have worked for the company.
    I produce all the flash movies and as I understand it these are my intellectual property. Is there any way of locking in a copyright statement in a FLA. Or do I just need to write copyright © 2002/2003 ???????? All rights reserved.

The company is doing very well now and the MD (a friend!!) is on holiday all the time, new cars, house etc. I paid for my shares 2 months ago and have still not received a share certificate from Companies House or any extra money!!

I’m obviously not much of a businessman, any ideas on how I should take this forward, bearing in mind there are still more courses to produce?

An Inconvenient Serving Size hurricaneone's Avatar
    What you really need is to stop spamming the boards with your story.

Get a lawyer. Is it that difficult?
    Stand by for emergency synapse rerouting

The Minister of No Crap

Tonyloan,

I can't believe your story. For four years, you've been working without a contract for litte money and a promise of future income? That is the craziest thing I've ever heard of.

Have you been giving your FLAs to these people?

Scott

Never do those things! work with a contract at your price, there is no such thing as getting paid with promises.