A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Should I Use loadMovie?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    48

    Should I Use loadMovie?

    I am creating a CD Rom flash presentation with 5 movie clips, each of which has a 2 minute video presentation. My file size is getting huge and the video quality and spoken voice quality is WAY low when i embed it into the movie clips. I've heard there is a way to put all these videos into the same folder on the CD as the .EXE file and call them from the movieclip once it plays. Is the the load movie command - if so can you give me some actionscript examples?
    Here are some of my file names if it helps.
    The exe file = RealEstateFlash.exe
    the movieclip = product
    the video file = contact320x240

    Any help would save my sanity here because embedding all of these is taking 20 minutes to save or preview each time and the quality is crapola!

    thanks - and ps - the boss is breathing down my neck for an answer!

  2. #2
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    Either load the video swf file to a target movieclip or into another level ( that is if the stage size is the same as the exe).

    Make a empty movieclip, call it container ( or product ) and place it somewhere on the stage.

    Load the video swf with.....

    container.loadMovie("contact320x240.swf");

    To load into a level

    loadMovieNum("contact320x240.swf",1);

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    14
    Hi pellepiano,

    I had a similar problem and id like to do it with the target method. Could you be more specific please as to how I create an empty movie clip and what is the actionscript exactly...

    I mean what is the "object" that you place infront? is it the symbol name?

  4. #4
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    (the "object" container would be the instance name of the empty movieclip).

    There is nothing more to it than creating a movieclip ( with nothing in it ). Give it an instance name of container.

    Then load the external swf from a button or frame.

    // ex button
    on(release){
    container.loadMovie("external.swf");
    }

    As to making buttons and movieclips I would advise you to check some tutorials that came with Flash and the manual or the newbie section.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    14
    Thx,
    Can't it be done though from a movie clip instead of a button or frame?
    i.e. On clip event load: ?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    14
    if you got enough spare time and are interested in helping me ,which is always greately appreciated, why don't you chech out my post...

    my recent post

    Thx man

  7. #7
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    You can load anything from anywhere.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center