A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: flash5 to 6 problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    23

    flash5 to 6 problem

    i build up my xml in flashfile in flash 5 and i loaded it up. spending some time on finding out the problem i tried to save it in flash6 because of thinking that the xml engine might be faster in flash6...but it was not...i went back to my flash 5 and everything is fine on my local maschine in preview in flash 5 but when i move to flash 6 external player it's not running properly...?

    how big should xml files are at a maximum?
    is there a loading time difference between <node></node>
    and <node value="hier...."/> structure?

    thanks guys
    cebe:::::::::

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    1,112
    Do you have the code you're using that won't go from 5 to 6?
    Richard Lyman
    rich at lithinos.com
    www.lithinos.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    23
    yes here it comes...
    Code--------------------------------
    for (m=0; m<_root.context.childNodes[n].childNodes.length; m++) {
    if (_root.context.childNodes[n].childNodes[m].childNodes[1].childNodes[0].nodeValue == this.id && _root.context.childNodes[n].childNodes[m].childNodes[3].childNodes[0].nodeValue == "01") {
    this.info1 = _root.context.childNodes[n].childNodes[m].childNodes[5].childNodes[0].nodeValue;

    NOTICE-------------------------------
    - the xml nodes are read into the mcs in flash 5 so i guess it can just be some targetting right?
    - the xml is read into the movie. i can trigger in total but still having problem with the Nodes...
    cebe:::::::::

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    23

    solution

    to whoever is interested...

    in flash 6 players you cannot place regular comments(<! !>) in your xml donnot know why but it's running in flash 5!

    :-)
    cheers
    christian
    cebe:::::::::

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    1,112
    Won't work??

    PHP Code:
    myXML = new XML("<top><!-- Comment --><inside/></top>");
    trace(myXML.firstChild.firstChild); 
    Works just fine for me...
    Richard Lyman
    rich at lithinos.com
    www.lithinos.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    1,112
    As for the original question...

    I know this sounds silly, but make all relative references into absolute ones... a lot of people have run into problems with scope issues. Try it.. see what happens, I could very well be wrong.
    Richard Lyman
    rich at lithinos.com
    www.lithinos.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center